Has travel made you a minimalist?

in #minimalist7 years ago

Hey guys,
I am going to do a video today on my channel about this topic because I'm finding it very interesting. I have been travelling the world for over 4 years now and while I am currently living in Budapest for a year I was thinking that travelling has really changed how I buy things.

I always have a mind set that if I buy this item at some point I have to carry it on my back or get rid of it. I buy things that have a purpose but I'm not sure if that would change if I owned my own house would I just fill it up with useless crap. :)

I would like to know if travel has made you a minimalist? If so has it been a change for better or worse?

Sort:  

Most definitely.
Being a minimalist provides you with a sense of freedom.
Freedom from your possessions. Freedom from all the time it takes to figure out "What do I want to bring, what should I leave?"
Freedom from having to return to any particular place because of what you've left behind.

I get that and like the idea, however the majority of things we keep and treasure have deep meanings. For example I have items from my child hood that I could never throw away. I think of minimalism more of not buying items such as a sign saying bath and hanging it above a bath.

We love travel, but no we bring more souvenirs home than ever now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68414.34
ETH 2648.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71