minimalist shoes

in #minimalist6 years ago (edited)

Our family has been transitioning to barefoot going since this past winter.

Barefoot, feet splaying and springing as they are designed, soles connected to the Earth!

When we do need to wear shoes, we want: something with a thin, flat, flexible sole, zero drop heel (meaning flat from heel to toe), and a wide toe box.

e39e14f6541adb53ff2dad6defc5044f.jpg
(image cred EarthRunners.com)

My husband had incredible feet. They splay like camels feet! Lucky for him, he as always worn shoes to fit his wide spread toes.

Check out his spread! (and mine)
PicsArt_05-17-11.39.31.jpg

I bought him his first minimalist shoes for Christmas this past winter. We've been hooked since!

PicsArt_05-17-10.07.56.jpg

He now owns 3 pair (Xeroshoes casual sneaker, Vivo Barefoot dress shoes & boots), I own 1 pair (Vivo Barefoot casual sneaker).

#hippiebaby & #hippiedaughter3 wear soft soled shoes (moccasins) still.

#hippiedaughter1 & #hippiedaughter2 needed sandals desperately!

I was able to snag these Vivo Barefoot Achilles sandals in their size on super clearance! $15! Woo hoo! They are perfect for them!

20180516_172354.jpg

I am on the hunt for a pair of sandals for #hippiehusband and myself. Then we will be set!

Do you barefoot? Do you have any favorite minimalist shoes?

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Wow! I had never even considered this before. Likely because I am such a wimp when it comes to my feet. I found you on the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @buckaroo. Congratulations.

@energyaddict22
If your truly an "energy addict" as your name says, I think "earthing/grounding" would be right up your alley!

Pampered and babied feet definitely need time to toughen up for barefoot walking.

Thanks for coming over and commenting!

I think I am going to have to look into these shoes you're talking about. If given a choice I am barefoot. Since I work graveyard shift, my shoes go off as soon as everyone leaves :) I cannot stand to wear shoes and socks, even worse nylons.
I look forward to more 'hippy' postings :)
I came across this post due to @buckaroo and #payitforward. Keep up the great work !!

Yes! Please do! There are many brands! Vivobarefoot, Xero Shoes, Unshoes, EarthRunners, Soft Star Shoes, Wildlings, Drifter Leather... So many more.

This is a pretty good list, there are some not listed,but this is a good spot to start!
https://footloveyoga.com/2017/10/22/the-minimal-barefoot-shoe-directory/
There is also a DIY minimalist shoe group on Facebook, which is awesome! I am working on a pair of sandal moccassins for #hippybaby right now!

My husband is the same way, he couldn't wait to get out of his shoes each day.. But less so now that he has minimalist shoes for work. He still prefers barefoot, but is more comfortable than before in shoes with these.

And thank you! I know my posts kind of hit all sorts of topics, but so does my life! 😂
Im hoping to focus more on homeschooling, homesteading, crafting/sewing, and health (including hippie stuff).

I love people that post on all sorts of things rather than just one topic. I've been a little stuck on a basic theme lately. I always say post what moves you, those make the best articles.

You know, as a reflexologist of many years standing, I have to agree that barefoot is great for feet! Being barefoot on open ground is also good, feeling the grass and dirt between the toes, and strengthening our connection to earth/groundedness. Our son? It's pretty hard keeping shoes on him! It's pretty much at school because he has too, and when he's playing soccer. He walks through the bush and along streams barefoot all the time, never worrying about the little cuts and scrapes, and he has noticed his feet getting tougher. Misshaping the foot through 'shoe torture' has incredible knock-on effects on human health, I have seen it in clinical practice literally hundreds of times. High heels in particular - don't do it ladies!

This was a very interesting read. Growing up as kids we always wanted to be barefoot. Nowadays I barely am barefoot because even around the house I wear slippers.

I read the article you attached in the comments and it made a lot of sense. I have a lot of foot pain and strains and this could be the reason why. Thank you for sharing this with us and showing us your families footwear!! 😊

@crosheille Yes! I was ALWAYS barefoot as a kid! My grandpa would tease me about being a "true kentuckian" because of it, haha!

YES! I love barefoot. Winter is a dilemma as it's way too cold. Interestingly my husband likes his shoes and when he was tested on the SCIO (Quantum) the feedback was that he needs to be grounded. While I am very well grounded. By the way @corrielaine I entered you and this particular post in #payitforward so your families feet are famous!

@buckaroo aw thanks! Thats so sweet of you!❤

I made felted wool & leather slipper/sock/moccs for winter (around the house). We wear wool socks and the minimal shoes in winter when out & about.

I bought four pair of thongs (we used to call them jap flaps) yesterday before I read this. Great minds think alike? LOL! :) I like wearing them, but it is hard to find them large enough for my feet.

These look interesting, I will see what I can find. :)

Flip flops, while thin and flexible flat soles... Are not minimalist actually. They tend to not be wide enough for toe splay. And, due to them not being firmly attached to your foot (thus flapping), it makes your feet grasp them in an unnatural manner, which in turn throws the whole body out of alignment :/

My husband used to have a hard time finding shoes to fit too. He would buy size 13 just to have the toe room. But he measures a size 11.
With the minimalist shoes, he wears an 11:)

The kind I like have a strap over the top, and stay in place well. I always have trouble finding them large enough. I am the 'runt', but I still wear size 12, so sandals are hard to find. That is why I bought four pairs....

They are size 13, so they give me a little room for my toes. I am modifying one pair for ground conduction, to try barefooting with shoes on. :)

That Vivo Barefoot Achilles looks so comfy. Where can I get those here in Malaysia?

@viverridae maybe try Vivobarefoot.com ?
Im not sure where they sell to.
If you are on facebook, there are minimalist shoes buy/sell/trade groups :)

Great article! I find those shoes very interesting as I can't wear tennis shoes or typical arches because they hurt my knees. I prefer to barefoot around the house and such and wear flip flops most of the rest of the time. In the winter I have to wear hiking boots.

I came in here from @buckaroo's Pay-it-Forward curation contest entry.

@viking-ventures Sounds like youd be a great candidate for minimalist shoes!
Barefoot is best!
Thanks for stopping by!

So I can understand free toes and all, but what’s bad about arch support and a cushioned heel?

Basically, they dont allow your feet to function properly.

Imagine putting your hands in thick firm, not very flexible mittens. Like deep winter thick.

Now.. Go about your daily business... Can you pick up your fork? Eat? Drink? Put your clothes on? Drive your car?
Maybe.. But not easily at all! And your arms would seriously wear out, using muscles in weird unnatural ways to make up for the lack of hand sensitivity, flexibility & use.. Yes?
;)

This is a great article on it.

https://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/stop-foot-pain-a-nerds-guide-to-healthy-feet/

Cool article. Thanks for sharing @corrielaine

Great analogy! I could see wearing minimalist shoes, however I’d be nervous about getting worms going barefoot.

I have a friend (who is kind of wormy, LOL) who goes barefoot all the time. He has never had worms, and is above average healthy. He is included in a study on grounding, where contact with the Earth extends life. I am watching the results carefully, but I may have to start going barefoot soon....

Yes! We love grounding! It really energizes you!

I am adding a copper ground contact (a penny) on the bottom of each sole. I hope RTV will hold the penny in place. A contact on the top side for my foot will be connected by a copper grounding strap.

Great idea! Share some pics when you've finished them!

Sounds good, LOL! A penny for my thoughts takes on a whole new meaning.... :)

The chance of getting worms, through your feet is pretty slim. If you licked the ground..then yes😂 but, you have parasites already from just daily life.

We barefoot around home, but wear shoes out & about

I put shoes on in the morning when I get out of bed and take them off when I get into bed. Ha. Training myself to go barefoot would be interesting. I follow a lady on instagram who never wears shoes and does hiking trails and all kinds of stuff. Crazy!

I was the same not long ago!!
Custom orthotics and everything!

You cannot just go cold turkey and switch to barefoot/minimal. You have to transition.
There are some shoes on the market that are kind of "minimal", which help the process.
But you can injure yourself if you try to just switch.
I have thrown out the my othrotics and all of my shoes but 2 pair (one is flat/thin/flexible,but not very wide toe box, but cute.. For occassions) of shoes currently.
I need sandals and maybe a winter pair of minimalist boots?
But, i only put shoes on to go to town now! (or to the farm...)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58