A Minimalist's Christmas

in #minimalism7 years ago

photo-1477728275068-39b7f46df4d2.jpg

As I'm trying to brainstorm what to get friends and family for Christmas, I can't help but feel conflicted. Lately, I've been learning more about minimalism.

Minimalism - action of a minimal or conservative kind

My preferred definition:

Minimalism - "a tool that can assist you in finding freedom. Freedom from fear. Freedom from worry. Freedom from overwhelm. Freedom from guilt. Freedom from depression. Freedom from the trappings of the consumer culture we’ve built our lives around. Real freedom." (The Minimalists)

How do you continue to rid your home of useless 'things' during the most materialistic time of the year?

Let me clarify what I mean by useless. I don't think you should throw out anything that doesn't have a vital purpose. The best way I've found to cleanse my home is by holding the 'thing' and asking myself, "does this bring me happiness or add value to my life?" If the answer is no, toss it.

So... back to the Christmas dilemma. Here is what I've come up with:

  • Ask your friends or family what they need. Instead of shopping for what you think they want, ask if there is anything they need at the moment.

  • Make a donation. If they don't need anything, offer to make a donation in their name to a charity or organization they support.

  • Gift an experience. This is the option I'm leaning towards when it comes to my friends and family. Instead of giving a concrete thing, give them an experience. Make memories. I've found that Groupon is great for finding discounted activities and classes.

Agree or Disagree?

Let me know if there are any other ways to uphold minimalist values during the Christmas season.


About Me


Hi, my name is Piper. I'm a hobbyist by nature, vegan by choice and all around Techie. I have a license in cosmetology, degree in communications and I'm self-taught in many other areas. What I'm currently studying: python, cryptocurrency, videography, minimalism & veganism.

Follow me on:


Steemit | YouTube | Instagram

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35