Having Less is Having More

in #minimalism6 years ago

Having Less is Having More
February 2, 2018
Hello people, and welcome to my hopefully interesting and somewhat beneficial post regarding a sliver of my minimalistic lifestyle. I hope by reading this you will think more about the things you own and whether or not they actually add value to your amazing life!

To start things off, I would like to ask one basic question to all of my fellow blog readers; What things do you own that are apart of your wardrobe that add value to your life? If you were anything like me about two months ago, you actually wear a lot of your current clothes that you own and you think they add value. I would like to take you on a little journey onto what this picture actually makes me think about.

The Clothing
As you can see in the picture there are eight total shirts, one air mattress bed, one pillow, one red and black plaid blanket, one pair of socks, and a book. To give some background info, I have been wearing this exact set of shirts for the past couple of months and they have provided me with more things than I could ever imagine. When I wake up in the morning now no longer do I stare into the open and vast abyss of my clothing filled closet; I simply wake up, start my coffee, hop in the shower and when I get out I grab one of the above shirts (Knowing I like them all). To my advantage, this not only saves me time when choosing but allows me to match one of my similar pairs of shorts at ease, regardless of design. Below is a picture from months ago when I introduced some of my friends into the cryptocurrency game wearing my simple wardrobe of course!! :) |
When making my switch to a simple lifestyle, I stumbled upon this so-called 33 Item wardrobe challenge that Joshua in The Minimalist had put his own flavor on. It will always stick with me, but by having all of his underwear be the same color except for one red pair, he was easily able to keep track of what underwear were clean and dirty while traveling by placing the red pair in between the others.

The Bedsheet’s The Blanket and The Black Shirt
From a young age I have been an entrepreneur and have been taught to never really reinvent the wheel, and follow this implementation throughout parts of my life. As for the bedsheets, I have had them since my first day as a freshman in college (I am currently ending my sophomore year) and they have been through two moves with me. Taking them from my dorm room too my first apartment too my current apartment, I have found no need to replace them as they do their job perfectly! No need to reinvent the wheel there. Below are some pictures from my college dorm room so you can better see for yourself, don’t mind my roommate Jake lol we used to send these to each other all the time on snapchat!

|

Continuing on and finishing up, that red and black plaid blanket has been passed down from my great great grandmother and is super warm so I tend to keep it around these days as a reminder. Lastly, the black shirt that is pictured both in the group of my buddy’s and I and the picture of my current wardrobe was a gift from my ex-girlfriend Tara as a birthday present; It’s actually all pretty funny the way that worked out as if she knew one day all of my shirts would be plain with a pocket as Ironic as it seems.

Everything That Remains
This book I had finished reading about a week ago and was inspired to read it from a Netflix documentary labeled Minimalism. This movie is a documentary that starts off pretty slow but soon dives into the life of a minimalist named Joshua Fields Millburn. Throughout the memoir we live Josh’s life through his words and come to find out that his life, one once dominated by climbing the social ladder and working to get a paycheck has quickly took a 180 degree change as he realizes what is important in life. The death of his mother accompanied by the loss of his wife has made him question his life decisions in many ways. Was the well paying job that robbed all of his time and created stress really worth it? Was the “successful” life and career choice where he barely got to see his mom before she died really worth it? At the end of this blog I will include my favorite section in the book, a scene that is found in the movie as well that really hit home with my recent move and transfer to my new college while I was debating what to fill my box of a place I call “home” with. Coming full circle, I must ask you again with Josh’s favorite question in the book, what truly adds value to your life? Leave a comment, I'd love to hear!!!

Favorite Quote from Everything That Remains | Excerpt From Minimalism

Sort:  

Super interesting post. Im kinda trying to be in the same mindset as you, I travel a lot from country to country, so that's just another reason to keep things simple with clothes, less is more :) Followed!

Im glad you enjoyed reading it, I have yet to be out of country and is definitely coming in the near future as soon as I get some time away from college! Also thank you for following really means alot! Where do you stay by the way when you travel? I want someone to develop like a decentralized version of air bnb based off the blockchain!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61