Minimalism

in #minimalism5 years ago

49125005_760963577611017_1083046209221820416_n.jpg

If you know TEDx Talks you probably do have your favourite ones. There are many which made huge impact on me. Today, I would like to share with you the one, which forever chained my view on things which I need.

Quick recap, in case you did not watch the video.

Gentleman (in the video) was making six figures in his twenties. He was buying a lot of stuff for that money, which supposably should make him happy. But he wasn’t.

So one day, he and his friend has a great idea. Pack everything what he possessed into cardboard boxes and for next 21 days, he could only take out things, which he needed to use.

After 21 days 80% of his things was sitting in his apartment, untouched in the boxes.

During his twenties he was basically exchanging his time for money which he spent on things which he did not use.

After watching this I told my self that maybe it would not be that stupid idea to own only things, which add value to my life. Anything else is probably useless.

Today I went through my wardrobe and I was so surprised how many clothes were still there! Together with my girlfriend we put 2 bags of clothes away and couple of other things (And I was labeling my self as minimalist already).

We often buy things not because we need them but because it is expected from us. Or we will look cool in them. We often exchange the possession of those thing for our time which we can invest into things, which we truly value the most. Do we truly want to do that?

Thanks for reading.

Ou and don’t forget to check out my Instagram. You can find there some moments from my so-called minimalistic lifestyle :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87