You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I sold all my stuff and moved across the country: on being minimalish

in #minimalism6 years ago

This is a fantastic first article!

I realized the more sentimental or emotional value I attached to something, the more empowering it was to part with it.

This is such an empowering thought! I noticed the same thing with relationships as well. Except instead of throwing away relationships, I imagine what it would be like if that person never existed. This may sound a bit extreme, but it's a great way to release attachment to people and really value them for who they are, not just the role they play in your life.

At times, looking around my almost-bare apartment before the move felt lonely and empty. At other times I felt a sense of pride, accomplishment and freedom. Both emotional journeys usually ended up at the same place: reflecting on who I am and what I want out of life.

Love this! Whenever you set a goal to let go of something, you can turn something that feels like loss and emptiness into a feeling of freedom and accomplishment. But instead of forcing yourself to "stay positive" you let yourself feel both ends of the emotional spectrum and receive all the gifts each had to offer.

Also the 90-90 and 20-20 rule are freaking genius!

Glad to have you on the platform, Emily!

Sort:  

Thank you Josh! And thank you for highlighting me on your show. I'm so honored! I'm a big believer in exploring what the entire spectrum of emotion has to teach us. I'm glad that, along with other parts of the post, resonated with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59401.87
ETH 2615.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40