Minimalism - The New Yurt's Interior

in #minimalism7 years ago (edited)

Howdy Folks!

  • I've managed to get everything moved into the new Yurt and placed in a configuration I feel good with, so I figured I'd give you all a quick video tour:

The Rug

  • I managed to find an 8-foot diameter wool rug on Craiglist for a really good deal. I feel very fortunate, because this is exactly what I was looking for!
  • Since the Yurt is 12-feet in diameter, this gives a 2-feet area along the wall for putting things (e.g. furniture, bedding, instruments, etc.), and a ton of space in the middle of the Yurt for life activities (e.g. stretching, sleeping, working on projects, etc.).

Storage

  • Most of the things I need to store fit in a large plastic bin with a lid. I was able to turn it into a table for placing my lantern and incense holder on by throwing a large piece of cloth over it. I think it looks pretty awesome!

Furniture

  • Since I often sleep in the back of my truck, I needed to remove the back seats. I had the problem of finding a place to store them in case I have kids one day or need to transport more than 2 people, but that was solved by using them like living room furniture. I just put some heavy supporting objects behind them to keep the backrest from collapsing, and they work perfectly!
  • My bed consists of a camping mat, wool comforter and a quilt a friend made for me years ago. I just fold them all up and

Office Space

  • I constructed a little standing office against one wall. The foundation is a full body vibration plate (which I don't have a strong enough power inverter to run yet) with a grounding mat placed on top.
  • I used one of the spare roof poles, some tied cloth and foundation board to create a space for my laptop to sit.
  • I have a small USB Solar Panel hanging from the outside of the Yurt which powers my laptop as long as the sun is out.

Miscellaneous

  • I have very few clothes so they take up very little space. I usually keep them inside of two camping stuff sacks against the wall near the folded up bedding.
  • My Sitar and Bass Guitar also sit against the wall. I'm looking forward to getting a battery pack made which can power the Bass Amplifier!
  • I currently keep my Food and Supplements in the Yurt, but I am concerned about attracting insects and larger animals, so I'm trying to think of a better way to store that stuff. Let me know if you have ideas!

Nighttime Lighting

  • One of my favorite things about the new Yurt is how it feels at night when lit by a single lantern. My camera doesn't really do it justice due to the low light levels, but it's such a good mood setter! Also, when looking at the Yurt from the outside when it's really dark with the lantern lit inside the whole things glows really eerily... almost like it's a ghost! Maybe I'll show you someday if I get a better camera.

Thanks for dropping by and checking out the inside of my new Yurt! If you enjoyed the video I hope you'll give this post an Upvote, and if you'd like to see my future content please click that Follow button. Have an awesome day!

Sort:  

Love it! I stayed in a Yurt last year and it was an amazing experience. I hope to some day have a ton of acres and a few yurts out in the wilderness. Great post

I have the same dream @jeffjagoe! May we both bring that dream to full fruition in our lives.

It is hard to find the right spot for everything, nice job!

It definitely is. I'm hoping to get rid of some more things I don't need to open the space up a little bit.

I checked out your channel, and am looking forward to seeing it grow!

I'm glad you enjoyed it @tmoz!

Congratulations for your excellent post, I invite you to follow us and we grow faster, greetings

Lets grow togther

Thank you @steemitworld365, I'm really excited about it!

nice minimalism u got there :-)
if you feel good is the best choice you made, also nice ideea with the glasses, although i dont think that i could do that

@ilvstranger, the glasses definitely take some getting used to, but they make too huge a difference for me not to wear them. The biggest hurdle is getting over people always asking about them.

lol, if you feel good especially whne you sleep, you don't need others apreciate it :-))
Eventually make a real blog where explain that, and provide link when asked for have a proper answer. Hehe, gg again

I'll do that soon, thanks for the suggestion @ilvstranger!

Hey @cahlenlee , would love to offer to come onto my podcast sometime.

It is about people doing remarkable things, whether entrepreneurs or not.
Where we talk about what you are doing, believe in and what difference you are making in the world.

Here is the playlist of the existing episodes: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5CpCNPna6p95oJfKPew0N3ZT0k-khdgg

It is audio only over skype. Does this sound of interest to you?

That does sound interesting @nantchev. Let me check out your podcast and I'll get back to you.

Thats great to read, if you interested please select a date and time here:
https://calendly.com/adriannantchev/entrepreneur-podcast

Haha, I'm glad you like it @yavuzkelex

Awesome. I love the simple life. If I hadn't decided to live out of a backpack and travel around the world I'd probably be busy living in a yurt in Peru. Isn't it incredible how less is so often more! I enjoy the freedom of not having a mortgage, a car payment, or even a phone payment. I skip across the globe care free for about 10 years now. I've been writing travel reports and tips on Steemit. You may find the them interesting. Up-voted and following!

World Travel Pro

It definitely feels like where I've wanted to be for a long time without knowing it. Traveling the world as a free man sounds pretty amazing! I'll check out your channel.

For a long time I thought I wanted to be exactly where you are. But I just get bored after too much time in the same place. Thanks for checking out my work. I hope you enjoyed it. I'll be around. World-Travel-Pro

I wonder if I'll end up getting bored too, so far no signs of it though. How long did it take?

If you have a job or hobby you love you may never get bored. Apparently my thing is travel. It's hard to do that if you're in the same place. I was doing essentially nothing for a year. I guess just partying and so on. See, my income from interest was bigger than my monthly expenses. That kind of killed it for me ambition wise. Now I'm feeling healthy and strong again. Excited to be spending the next 4 month's in Thialand and Laos. What do you do to keep busy?

Transitioning to a career I'm passionate about is something I'm working on right now, and that's generally what keeps me busy. Making videos is part of it. I'm also training to be a Life Coach, learning to run a Permaculture Farm, and helping others make social media content. It's hard to remember a time I haven't been busy!

I've always wanted to visit Thailand. What areas will you be spending the most time in?

That's great. It's good to be busy, but always make time for yourself :). I love the whole concept of what you're doing. Everything from life coach to permaculture. That is basically what I'd be doing if I wasn't traveling. I almost started a permaculture farm in Ecuador a couple years ago, but realized I'm more passionate about travel, so I never did.

I'll be all over Thailand and Laos from now Sunday to first week in December. Bangkok I'll spend a few nights, but the highlights I'm looking forward to are the Islands in the south primarily Koh Phenagn, then Krabi town and Chaing-Mai in the north. Luang Probang in Laos. It will be my first time in Laos so that's real exciting for me. I'll probably stay in like 10-20 locations for the four month's that I'll be in SE Asia. I'm so glad to have connected with you on here. Will certainly keep an eye on your work. Have a great day!

Dan "World Travel Pro"

A really nice little insight into how another person lives. You look really happy, and it's a great little set up. Good tip with the glasses too, I had to ban myself from screens an hour before bed to ensure I could get to sleep, this could be a good way to manage that when it isn't possible!

I'm really glad to be sharing how I'm living with you @laineydn! I think I'm happier now than I've ever been, and it feels like it comes from the sense of space and peace the new living situation allows.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50