Elf Spear Maiden Miniature

in #miniatures6 years ago

The range of miniatures available in my collection is growing.

So is my experience, and with it, the speed with which I can make a new miniature.

This one is based on the same basic poseable female body, that I used for the two sorceress models. Because it can be posed, it is fairly quick to make a new model from it.

After I have posed it, I apply the pose, and then I set about correcting the issues that the posing has caused. Usually this is around the shoulders and elbows, as well as getting the muscle bulges to look right.

When I have that done, I add clothes and weapons or other things. These are kept as separate meshes which makes it easier to hide the other parts so it doesn't get to cluttered while I work on it.
The head is usually kept as a separate mesh as well. The hair is sculpted like the clothes.

finally I make a test print (usually 2 or 3) to see if it comes out ok, and to have something to paint up for the shop-photos on Shapeways.

Then I upload it and wait. You can go see this one In my Shapeways shop


Thanks for reading this. Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem.
If this post is more than 7 days old , consider upvoting one of my newer posts instead.
or you can check out these recent posts

Fail!
Elf sorceress

Sort:  

interesting. I've got to play around with using skeletonized meshes at some point.

Right now I'm checking out Modo as a potential tool for my future models, as Vectary's "upgrade" has left me unable to adapt to the new interface and built-in rendering that my computer can't handle X/

I know I should just learn to model using Blender, but I felt like testing out other tools too XP

skeletal meshing is a great tool (both for animation and for posing) and very satisfying once you get the hang of it. It is also quite a steep learning curve, and fairly frustrating in the beginning, but you do not strike me as someone who is daunted by that :-)

First, I really like that you're making tangible things from your 3d modelling. Beyond that, I particularly like this piece for the pose. A definite 'You can try to fight me if you want.' kind of swagger.

Thanks, I am glad you like it. It was something like that, I was going for. When working in this small scale the pose becomes quite important because the details are so small.

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Hi @evilhippie!

Your post was upvoted by utopian.io in cooperation with steemmakers - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

Very nice, i guess from the lack of clothes that she is a wood elf:) Also be her company, i remember the other guy. He was one of my favourite, a wood elf captain i think:)

Yes I was thinking wood elf as well. I have quite a few of the old wardancer miniatures stacked away somewhere, and as you mentioned I also have a few spearmen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49