The Making of the Phill figurinesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #miniature5 years ago

As some of you may have noticed I have started a project together with @katharsisdrill called @olde-steemshop.

The idea is to sell some of our own creations for steem as well as facilitating that other artists may sell their stuff. you can go read this post that explains the idea
Our first merchandise was based on an idea of mine. Since The web comic Phill from Gchq which is made by @katharsisdrill, is released as creative commons, it is possible to make derivative art as long as you mention the original artist, so I thought it would be fun to try and make some of the characters from Phill as collectible figurines.

Since Katharsisdrill is my brother (as some of you may already know) it was a simple matter of asking what he thought and together we came up with the idea of a shop.
My job would be to do the actual manufacture of the figures, so I got to work straight away


I have some experience in 3d modelling as those who follow me know. Thus, doing the sculpting in blender and 3d printing was the obvious choice.

I started with Phill since he is the main character, and as always I sculpted the head first.
I was a bit worried that I wouldnt be able to capture the likeness of phill but since he is a fairly comic-like character it turned out not to be a problem. I was still worried about the more realistic characters like Morty, but I will come to him in a later post.


Phill turned Out nice, I even discovered that my 3d style fitted quite well with the 2d style of @katharsisdrill. I made the figure in a t-pose and posed it afterwards.
I didnt do this with all the figures but Phill was the first so i wanted him to fairly flexible. He is probably also the one where the chance of me making more than one pose is biggest.

i made a few poses and even a small running animation that I might show you all later. for now I decided on the walking pose that you can also see in our sales post over at Ye olde steemshop

Finally I made 2 test prints on my fdm to see what scale would look best (and be most suited for mailing) and decided to go for the 7.5 centimeter version. this is fairly close to the size of most commercial figurines like tintin-figures etc.
I have already made all the figures and will be presenting them here as well as setting them up for sale in Ye olde Steemshop.

Until next time.

Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem
or you can check out my accounts on these sites:

Cults3d
Thingiverse
Shapeways

Youre welcome to like or follow me there as well.

Sort:  

Hi evilhippie,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow so lovely.

Nice idea you decided to make 3d products of your brother comics and this was really beautiful and did fall short of your usual high-quality 3D-figures.

I hope to see the running animation video integrated here on steemit. Kudos.
I hope to see your shop booming.

Thanks, I do plan to put the animation up at some point.

Hello @evilhippie, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93