Naked Warriorlady. A milliput miniature

in #miniature7 years ago

Hello Steemians. This post is about modelling. Not the kind where superskinny teenagers get their pictures taken to sell everyone stuff they probably dont need. This is about the painstaking and timeconsuming process of building up 3 dimensional models from clay or other materials.
I have done modelling for my entire life and have build up some proficiency if i do say so myself. But dont take my word for it.
http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_06/IMG_7953.JPG
I modelled this warrior lady almost 15 years ago, while I was working as a Goldsmith at Royal Copenhagen. I worked in the design-department, not as a designer but as the guy who helped the designers with getting their ideas from loose drawings to solid gold and silver. we used several different materials for the modelmaking process.
One of them was milliput, a two part epoxy which can withstand quite a alot of heat and pressure when cured. I love it as a modelling material because you can mix the parts, sculpt for an hour or so like you would any other modelling clay and when its hardened you can grind,file and polish it. then you can mix up some more and add that to the existing model. There are alot of other modelling clays with similar behaviour but milliput was the first I discovered and is still one of my favourites.
This particular model was a part time project which I did on and off for several month. I used my breaks at work as well as a considerable amount of time in the evenings at home.
It was never completely finished (as you may be able to see the arms are still only loosely attached and the base is just a blob of putty) I could never make up my mind as to whether i should make a mould of it and cast up a few copies or whether I should paint it and let it be a one of a kind. What do you guys Think ?

Sort:  

Awesome, think it would look great in metal.

Love it! A Barbarian Queen :)

This is awesome. Id love to get better at this in order to make pieces for my tabletop games.

@evilhippie Nice model, and i hoped to see a picture of the painted model, so i would say please paint it :)

@loganarchy Tabletop games/modeling hobby in combination with 3d printing are a great combination as well, you can get very usable results for around 150 dollar!

The possibilities are endless ,for example take a look at these free to download tabtop models: https://www.thingiverse.com/search/page:1?q=tabletop

If you don't want to buy a 3d printer, but you still would like to have one of the models from the link, you could also use an online printing service such as 3dhubs.com

It's also fun to use diffident techniques on one project and it also can print some functional things as well: https://www.thingiverse.com/search/page:1?q=functional

The printed models can be sanded and painted.

I personally love miliput, it is much more like ceramics than kneadite or green stuff and it is great filler when I glue pewter miniatures together. Also it can be filed after curing with model file.

finish it up and try to cast it maybe you can even make some money from it :)

exactly my thoughts. the crisp details you can achieve with milliput are realle something else.

I think this is awesome. I've been trying to get into sculpting and making casts but I need to invest in the materials.

It doesnt need to be expensive. Maybe later i can post some stuff about my experiences .

That would be very helpful!

Congratulations @evilhippie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51