Clients and OS for mining cryptocurrency (Discussion)

in #minergate7 years ago

I started with cryptocurrency about month ago, when my friend and I really wanted to try and earn some money with our gaming PCs. Ethereum mining where pretty popular when we started and where some of the reasons we started with mining in the first place. Because we used our gaming PCs we had to mine on windows that already was installed. So we needed a program for windows, at first we find some complicated tutorials where we had to use cmd and specific commands for starting to mine ethereum. That was little to complicated for us xD. After watching some yotube videos we found a program called "Minergate", its a gui program you just hit play and it starts mining for you. And I love it. But my question is: If I am building an mining rig, which os and program should I use to give me the best performance. And witch pool should I join? Thanks for reading my Norwegian English to the end xD 

Sort:  

Hii Stian nice to read about you.i am surendra from india,am also a new on steemit and welcome you to steemit.i have followed you.so, can you also follow me.Best of luck.

Thanks! I followed you back xD

If you looking to build a mining only rig, linux is the way to go if you have the time and courage to work with it(I'm assuming you don't have a lot of experiences with linux) The benefits of using linux is the system is less resource intensive on your rig, which means higher hashrate YEAH. The advantage of using Windows is ease of use, but I would advice you to stay away from Minergate because you are not utilizing your GPU's to its potential. Minergate is super easy to setup and start mining but the alternatives on Windows as well as Linux, will yield you better results.
Happy mining!

I actually have experience with linux, after owning a raspberry pi and managing a Plex server on an Ubuntu machine. Thanks for such nice answer. And happy mining you too!

Arh Okay, then setting up a miner should be no problem at all. I used cryptobadger's guide in the past which is super simple step by step if need inspiration/help http://www.cryptobadger.com/build-your-own-ethereum-mining-rig/ It does have a few other helpful topics aswell

Thanks alot!

so good vote karta rho

Congratulations @naits98! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @naits98! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57226.98
ETH 2416.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29