Learning History Through Minecraft

in #minecraft7 years ago

Learning some history about how the Romans lived while playing Minecraft!

I build things using the blocks in minecraft. Usually I build mansions, townhouses or castles but last week I decided to try my hand at a Roman Domus (House). I had a great time learning the layout of a middle to upper class family residence from 2000 years and the names of all the rooms!
2017-06-10_17.33.18.png
2017-06-10_17.33.24.png

I made a YouTube video about it:How to Build A Roman Villa

If you like minecraft or have a child addicted to it, there is an opportunity for learning here! If you can stop them bashing each other with swords for a few minutes and show them the layout of a Domus you may just fire up their imagination! I ended up learning about rooms such as Tablinum, cubiculum, inpluvium and peristylium and many more.roman-domus1.png

Here is the house from the outside. It has very few windows as the Romans liked to get all their light from an atrium at the front and a colonnaded garden at the back called a Peristylium. This was a sensible way of living in the searing Mediterranean heat. Rooms mostly had one use but the rooms at the back around the garden could be used more in Summer for outdoor eating etc.villa parts.jpg

Here is the typical house plan with most of the rooms labelled.

  • a. Taberna - A shop, could be rented out or run by the family, usually no connection to house from inside.
  • b. Cubiculum - There were a series of small bedrooms, one of which could be a latrine
  • c. Ala - Unusual spaces at the side of the house, use is fairly unknown and it seems these open spaces faded from popularity
  • d. Culina - Kitchen, usually quite dark and smoky - could be run by servants if you can afford it!
  • e. Exedra - this flexible semi-outdoor space could be for meetings, lounging or dining
  • f. Peristylium - Collonaded garden area used to grow herbs, chill out and some even had a fish pond.
  • g. Triclinium - A dining room. It seems this single use room did not used to be something found but later on Romans loved to eat lounging on their sides and separate room was called for.
  • h. Impluvium - my favourite space and you can see it in my first picture - I saw these in Pompeii! It is a shallow trench that collected rain water from the open space above. This rain water could be used for bathing, drinking or cooking and often filled up a cystern too!
  • i. Atrium. The space containing the impluvium with columns around it.
  • j. Vestibulum - The entrance, leading to the atrium along a corridor called Fauces. Keeps the house very private from the street.
    I just wrote all that from memory and did not know any of it beforehand apart from impluvium. It was building it in minecraft that helped me study it and remember all the rooms.

2017-06-10_17.39.26.png
2017-06-10_17.33.42.png

Sort:  

So many ways this game can teach our youth. I wish it were around when I was a kid. I'd probably be an engineer or architect or something like that. Now I just install decorative concrete floors. They would look better than that ugly 80s tile in the last picture though.

haha yes - actually I am glad this game was not around when I was a kid! I would never have left the house. Block choice is limited in minecraft but I get your point about the tile!

This is cool. I like those interior pictures, especially the candles one. If you got time, please post some more.

Congratulations @andyisyoda! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great build idea, and an excellent learning opportunity. I'll be showing this to my son. Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations @andyisyoda! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53