Want to mine a coin but your GPUs or ASIC are terrible at it? Look no further...

in #mine7 years ago

Recently, I was looking into mining Siacoin. I had convinced myself that if I mined a few thousand of these, it could seriously pay off in the future. The problem? My payout was terrible on 2x GTX 1080s when compared to other cryptos I could mine, like VTC or DGB. I would get maybe $1-2 a day vs. $5-10 on others. The solution was simple: just mine a more profitable currency, send it to an exchange and trade for what I wanted that was less profitable. Except... this was kind of laborious! That is when I discovered multipool mining! With multipool mining, I could literally mine whatever is the most profitable at that moment taking into consideration the difficulty and the current market price. Now, there are a quite a few multipool out there and most of them either do not exchange or only exchange to BTC. For many, this is not a problem, but it is not what I wanted. I wanted to diversify my crypto portfolio.

In comes MiningPoolHub, a website capable of autoexchanging the currency you mine to your currency of choice, which I think is amazing! I considered the options they had of miners, and MPH themselves recommend just using ccminer with a code they offer on the site. They even provide a list of profitabilities for AMD and nVidia, which is great but what it does not consider is the differences between GPUs.

In comes NemosMiner! While it might only be for nVidia GPUs, it is extremely powerful. One can download version 2.2.2 from github and just use the MPH batchfile with your username. What makes it so amazing? NemosMiner can take into account the your individual hashrate for various algorithms and calculate this vs. the current difficulty/cost of the cryptocurrency you are mining. My profitability has gone up to $10-20 a day on my GTX 1080s using this method! I highly recommend it! And sometimes I turn off the autoexchange and just use this to diversify my accounts. I typically end up with quite a bit of vertcoin, monacoin, zcoin, and digibyte with the occasional coin from an equihash algo.

Now, there are a limited number of coins right now, but it is still a fairly large amount to choose from. What is particularly nice is that nVidia users can autoexchange to ETHash coins which are usually not profitable and get them in a good return.

Right now, I am autoexchanging everything to ZClassic. It is a new coin with a limited supply and low market cap: I really think it could take off and be over $100 someday so I encourage you all to get some and HODL. Anyway, below are links to Nemos github and MPH:

https://miningpoolhub.com/
https://github.com/nemosminer/NemosMiner-v2.2.2/releases

Also, if anyone uses a different multipool, I would love to hear your thoughts on why it is better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32