Being grateful for where you're at...living with your parents

in #mindset5 years ago

So five months ago I was thrown out of a home I shared with my ex. After 7 years living together I had begun to think of it as my home and created a room to work from there. When the shit hit the fan I had to move back to my parents and for a long time I felt really ashamed. That is until I met my friend Sid. He works for a tech company in Delhi and commutes five hours every day just to be able to live with his parents and see them in the evenings when he comes home from work. It really made me question why there is such a drive to get on with life? To move out, get a job, settle down with a partner and "make it". What does making it mean for me, or you for that matter?

For me I realised that making it included having the time to sit with my parents while they tell me about the book they are writing together, about the crossword puzzle they are half way through, about their walk in the park etc. It's all valuable time. Time which I've not had because for the past seven years I exchanged it for romantic love and didn't get to appreciate the parental stuff.

This week they allowed me to take a spare room in their house and transform it into a therapy room so I can spend more time at home and not have to rent premises in town. They made the offer when I moved in months ago but I was uncomfortable taking them up on it as I realised if I were to do so it would mean acknowledging that I would be there for quite a while. It's taken me months to appreciate that that's not a bad thing. That I can have gratitude for where I'm at. Taking a few seconds each morning and night to think of a few things you can be grateful for is a step in the right direction.

Taking the time to reach out to the people who brought you into this world and say thanks, even if they made a right mess of it can make a huge difference in your life. Mother's day is here for a reason, to take time to acknowledge what she does for you. I'm really grateful that this mother's day I can give my mum an Indian head massage in my new therapy room in our house this weekend. That's all she asked for in return for giving me this great opportunity.

For many years now I've run workshops teaching Eden Energy Medicine and my mum was my first guinea pig. After her stroke she lost 30% of her sigh and was told to lose all hope as it wouldn't be recovered. After 6 weeks of working on her she regained 10% and I decided to create a video series for things she could do to help improve her eyesight herself over time. If you would like to learn simple techniques to treat your mum with Eden energy medicine or how to connect and have a better relationship with your parents using energy techniques then you can see me in Glasgow or have a skype session with me. If you'd just like me to take care of your mum and give her some weel needed tlc at some point over the next month then you can see what treatments she can have at www.serenesenses.co.uk.

If you can give both of your parents a big hug when you see them and if you can't see where you can find gratitude for what they have given you in life and work on it. You never know when you might need them.

iTherapy_room_1[1].jpg!

therapy_room_3[1].jpg!

therapy_room_6[1].jpgtherapy_room_5[1].jpgtherapy_room_4[1].jpg

Sort:  

really touching description of your situation and how you have turned things around. I will of course give my mother a hug next time I see her. Ooh and the Therapy room looks great, i think i will book myself in for a treatment at some point :).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56796.26
ETH 2497.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23