Being Superstitious VS Conquering Your Own FatesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #mindset3 years ago

How many of you rely on superstitions to decide your fate and your way in life?
Being superstitious

About 70%-80% of the Thais are superstitious, and they are also divided into multiple categories of superstitions. Some rely on horoscopes, some rely on traditional fortune tellers(fortune telling by using house number, car plate number, birth date, etc.), some do palm reading(handprint and fingerprint).

These are the kind of people who make decisions based on the results of their fortune-telling. When the fortune-telling results are positive, they'll be more hardworking, and passionate about their career. For those who are investors or entrepreneurs, they'll either invest more or scale up their businesses. While it's a bit too much for those who don't believe in superstitions, it's actually acceptable for the Thais here. What's more, quite a number of people actually went on to succeed in life too!

But when the results are negative, they'll refrain from making too many moves in life in fear of the fortune-telling result coming true. Some even stop investing just to be safe(I laugh hard from this sometimes). This is almost like not living your own life but allowing external components to control your life.

Choosing to conquer one's own fate

While there are people who drown themselves in superstitions, there are also people who chose to decide their own fate with their mindset and actions. A number of people who don't rely on superstitions actually believe in them, but they just feel that their life should be in their own grasp, not controlled by any god or religion.

All in all, these are the people who chose to act according to how they want their life to be, they chose to work hard in order to live comfortably in the future. If they are afraid that in case of emergency, they wouldn't have enough funds to support or solve their problems, they'll choose to save up. They are usually people who think hard of potential problems that will arise in the future and make decisions in advance to help soften whatever problems that may arise anytime and anywhere. What I find respectable about them is they mostly blame themselves when problems arise and they are unable to solve them even though they've planned it thoroughly. They don't blame their incompetence on the lack of luck or on other people, and will instead start reflecting on the wrong things they've done.

These people fight hard in life to conquer their own fate. Even though it wasn't easy at the start, some fell into despair and are unable to get themselves back up again, and some fought till they are left with completely nothing. But there are people who manage to pull through and succeed on their own two feet(Congratulations, though.).

My opinions

Even though I feel that superstitions are acceptable, I don't drown myself in them. To be frank, I'm actually open up to all kinds of things. I prefer to gain more knowledge even if it isn't recommended by science, instead of being ignorant. I believe everything in this world is worth your time learning even if you don't take interest in it because you never know what's important until you need it(Knowing more is better than knowing less, right?).

I personally don't rely on superstition until I got together with my girlfriend. I mostly know a little bit of this and that from my girlfriend, and it helps widen my perspective a bit. I believe that sometimes doing what the fortune tellers advise isn't that bad, as long as it doesn't hurt your family, your finance, and yourself. But again, I don't drown myself in superstitions, I prefer to control my own life rather than live a life that I can't even control my fate.

I'm not in a position to advise all of you, but don't close your heart to all kinds of things around you. Please know that there are always a higher sky and a taller mountain, that there are always people better than you. If you can open up your heart and refrain from being ignorant and arrogant, you'll be able to see the world from a wider view.

But then again, if you guys are into superstitions, be remember to be cautious and careful with whatever you're going through, it may be a scammer cheating you of your money. The Thais here lost billions of Thai Baht per year to scammers who fed on our beliefs. Be sure to always be alert and not fall prey to your beliefs.

Feel free to comment or criticize, I'll accept all of them with grace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32