You Are Not Your Badge!

in #mindset5 years ago

How many times have you changed your last name?

I don't mean by getting married or running away from the cops, but how many times have you been introduced with your company name as your last name?

tim-gouw-79563-unsplash.jpg

Let's say I work for Google. The interaction would be something like this:

Hi, I'm Marlucco from Google. How are you?

My friend Cris Dias, released an episode of his podcast "Boa Noite, Internet" with the title of this post (listen here in portuguese) where he talked about this and I've been thinking about this topic for a while.

Full disclosure, I've never had a proper job. I'm a content producer since always and I never had to apply for a job in an office or real company. I've got offers to work for them, but never actually committed. So, this whole culture is something I'm always looking at as an outsider and it's fascinates me. Specially, this "Game of Thrones" idea of belonging to a house and changing who you are because of it. In Brazil, we have a saying for this that is "putting the jersey on". As I'm not a sports guys, either. It's a saying I understood in concept, but never in reality.

Being a content producer and having directed a lot of commercials in my time, I always had to go to meetings and interact with people who have their "jerseys on". Most of these interactions always had me asking questions about their work, how did they get there, what they wanted to accomplish and even a little bit of their personal lives. In the end, I wasn't interacting anymore with Mrs Marketing Director of House Nestle, but I was interacting with Maria, or John, or Dave. I was interacting with people and that changed everything.

This culture of us becoming our work, and even changing who we are because of it, is not a healthy one. We were sold this narrative by the "system" and they are not good at thinking about us. They are amazing at thinking of their profits and stakeholders.

For the period they will need you, they will tell you about all of the beautiful things you can do and have if you are proactive and productive. But if they need to let you go by any reason whatsoever, they will. And it won't matter if you had your jersey stitched - or even tattooed - on your body.

It might sound like I'm advocating for all of us to drop our jobs and go live in nature in a hippie commune. Yes, this might be my utopian dream, but it's not the point of this text.

The point here is: Don't matter where you are and what you are doing, be yourself!


You don't need to change names, you don't need to actually wear any jersey at all. You just need to be yourself and do your best at this. In the end, for a little while longer, we are doing business and interacting with other human beings, not companies. And if you are amazing at being yourself - which can be quite a hard job on itself, and I'll talk about this in another post - people will want to be with you and interact with you and that will be what makes you a success, don't matter the job title you have or the company you work for.

Because, you are not the badge you use around your neck. You are you. And that is amazing!


Thanks, @marlucco
=============================
If you liked this content, let me know. I want to do more pieces like this and would love to hear your feedback.
If you want to talk to me, you can follow me at @mmizidoro in almost any social network.
Thanks for being here and reading my content!


Sort:  

Awesome, piece of meaningful text. Im not alone anymore. I never could understand that people let themselves go in literally and figuratively way for the company they work for. I have met so many people of whom i thought they would have a much better income if they would do what thry do brd=8⅞68pp-6 best!11

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the message, @gar23!
I agree with you, people turned their identities into something else and now we need to go get it back!

Congratulations @marlucco! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

@marlucco, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

nice post ...

Thanks, Naomi!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95