How my hard drive almost drove me in to ruin…

in #mindset7 years ago (edited)

Last Saturday morning.

I’ve got my steaming hot cup o’ Joe and I crank up the ol’ laptop.

While I let the computer warm up…I throw a few dishes (and a piece of pizza crust) in to the sink, wipe the counters down and sit down to start my day.

Then I look on the screen…

There’s nothing on the desktop.

“What the….?” I mutter to myself.

Eh. This has happened before…let me just restart it.

25 minutes later I still have no desktop…and mild panic starts to set in. “I must have a virus.” I’m thinking. To make matters worse, I have a flight later in the day and work to get done.

I can’t screw around. I flip through my phone and get a guy named Dustin from a some local computer and virus repair. “Can you get here today…I know it’s Saturday…” My computer is barely working and I’m already scheming of how I’m gonna find the #@#hole who infected my machine.

“I can be there in about 3 hours…and we’ll fix it.”

“Great!” I exclaim. His assurance calmed me. This guy will get to the bottom of it.

Fast forward 3 hours later…

“Bad news.” he says flatly. Dustin had been on my machine about 20 minutes.

“What…what? Is it a virus??” I plead.

“No…that’s easy. Your hard drive is failing.”

He shows me a diagnostic menu on my PC. “Look here.” I look…and it has a bunch of gibberish. But under that it says ‘disk health: warning’.

“Your drive is starting to fail…who knows when it will die. It needs to be replaced.”

Dejected, I plopped on the couch and cursed myself for a moment. Why don’t I have a backup computer? I’d been thinking that I needed one…just never got around to it. Why today? I have a flight in 4 hours…clients to meet.

Ugh.

Dustin did some more tweaking and testing…restarted my machine and it started working again…”It could work for awhile, but don’t chance it for too long. You either need a new drive, or a new computer.”

Fortunately, my laptop worked through the weekend with some hiccups…but I’m heeding his advice and getting my machine upgraded.

But what did I do? I put things off always thinking “I’ll get a backup PC…or a backup drive……later.”

Wrong!

That’s when you get whacked. By procrastinating.

Not only that, but business moves so fast that when you don’t stay up to date on what’s changing…especially online, you get caught out.

Don’t let the ‘hard drive’ of your online biz (or your life!) grind you to a halt…

Do it now!


Get More & Higher Upvotes: Steemfollower

Sort:  

nice1# #Followed you dear follow me back :)

Thank you Sarah. I have. Hope you have a great weekend. :)

Yup, I maybe had an external hdd coming to me as I knew my pc hdd was dying...well as I was on it, it just went to a blue screen of death and that was all she wrote. End. Fortunately I had a friend who knew you can run am operating system off a USB stick so I setup linux on one and here I am. My pc is working from a USB stick. Of course I lost everything I had on the hdd but oh well. Live and learn. Another way to backup data is to live on a cloud. Google drive etc.

Fortunately, I had most of my files/data in my Dropbox so I wasn't a total idiot LOL. My computer guy said I should put a solid state drive in as they're much faster.

seems like we have to be like NASA and have a back up for the back up that we have backed up. Glad it worked out for you and good advice

Yep...you gotta these days....right? Thx :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58148.81
ETH 2345.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35