You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Golden Rule: If You’re Good at Something, Never Do it For Free...

in #mindset5 years ago

I agree.

Sometimes, people are not rewarded because of their competence, but for simply being in the right place at the right time.

That's why I quit my job. At some point it was rewarding and offered great possibilities of social mobility, but politics and mediocracy ruined our institutions and I felt I was working for free (not sure how many countries in the world pay $12 a month to college professors).

I liked this line

The world may not have treated you well, but you can treat yourself well.

I am working on it

Sort:  

That's why I quit my job. At some point it was rewarding and offered great possibilities of social mobility, but politics and mediocracy ruined our institutions and I felt I was working for free.

Exactly happened to me. Regrettably here in Venezuela the salary does not reach at all.

We have a lot in common, then.
No amount of money we can make here is enough. The sad thing is that at this rate, it will be impossible for friends and relatives to help from abroad.
Two years ago, any venezuelan working in Perú or Chile could send 5 or 10% of their salary to a relative and provide them with the equivalent of months of salaries here. Now they struggle to sedn 20% or more and those amounts mean nothing with our inflation.
We have become the most expensive country in america, probably in the world (when it comes to the relation income-expenses)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28