From zero to Triathlon #absurdgoals

in #mindset6 years ago (edited)

triathlon.png
Hi all,

A couple of weeks turned 34 and although on the outside everything looks good, deep within me something has been bothering me over the past decade. Been playing poker professionally for 5 years+ mainly online sitting 10h+ per day. Married to a beautiful girl for 8 years with 2 young and healthy boys. Income wise could be better but definitely not complaining as life has its ups and downs. Traveled the world the past 5 years as well. So what the hell is wrong with me?

It's a hard question to answer. I've been coaching mindset for peak performance to other poker players for the past 2 years and yet my mind fails me constantly. Currently I am developing a product with my partner focused on creating a long lasting change. Weather we are talking about habits, believes or simply your "WHY". So while developing the optimal product we needed to figure out what works and what not. We came to the conclusion that if we want to teach people/companies how to perform better first and foremost we need to test our product to ourselves. One thing led to another and at the end we both took on absurd goals over the next 1 year. Mine is to complete a full triathlon event.

Triathlon consists of swimming, cycling and running one after another. Prior to yesterday I had absolutely no experience in any of those. It wil be a lot of fun :D There are many reasons I am sharing this challenge with you. I will use steemit and other social platforms as kind of a diary for my progress of a middle aged slightly overweight male to ... we will see what :D Another reason is accountability from the communities. As I said I have no prior experience so all help through comments is welcome. Those are the reasons for social media. Now I want to share the 5 major reasons for doing this thing in first place.

  1. Test if mindset works.
    I will mainly rely on my psychological strengths. My current body shape sucks!

  2. Change physiology
    Over my adult life I could'n really get in shape. I was on and off different kind of sports, but never could follow through long enough. So here we go again

  3. Leading by example
    My two boys have bee watching me sit on my PC for hours and hours and this is about to change completely. I want to give the best example a father can give. Be relentless and once you set a goal follow through till the end! Oh and don't play online poker for a living :D

  4. Plant based life
    Since 2013 I have been on and off plant based diet and never could sustain it and make it my life style. Currently I am consuming diary, no meat thankfully, but still is far from optimal and I want to prove myself its possible.

  5. Quit alcohol
    Since I was 15 years old I have been drinking regularly and although I don't consider myself an alcoholic I might as well be one :D

So embarking on this crazy journey hopefully I will get answers to the question in the beginning of this post. Strong mind, strong body, strong spirit as they say...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94