Come join the fun! My entry into Mind Game Contest #1

in #mindgamescontest6 years ago

Responses to Mind Games Contest #1

Entry to @jaycee7viral's mind game contest

Level 1


Answer:
Put one red marble in one bowl, and put the remainder of the marbles in the other bowl.
After the blindfolds are applied and the bowls are shuffled, you will pick up the bowls and choose the lighter one (or feel inside and choose the bowl with just one marble). Select the marble from that bowl and you will live!

Reasoning:
By placing one red marble in one bowl, the probability of selecting the correct marble for that bowl is 100%. The instruction states, “You can choose one bowl and remove one marble”, but it does not define how you may choose your bowl. It does not specify if you may lift both bowls or feel around in the bowl before making your selection. In both cases, you will have a 100% probability to selecting the red marble based on the weight of the bowl or feeling a single marble versus a pile of marbles.

Level 2


Answer:
Jeff is the murderer.

Reasoning:

NameVictim?Murderer?Reasoning
BenNNBen met Jack for the first time six months ago, therefore he is not his brother and cannot be the murderer
Dan?NDan ran in the NY City marathon and since the murderer has an amputated leg, so Dan cannot be the murderer
JackNNJack's brother is the murderer so Jack cannot be the murderer
JeffN?Jeff wants to install Ben's PC next week which means he is still alive with future plans, so he cannot be the victim which concludes that he is the murderer
Mike??Mike and Dan are the only possible victims. If Dan is the victim, there is no way to tell if Mike or Jeff is the murderer. Sherwin grey was able to identify the murderer, so therefore Mike has to be the victim which points to Jeff as the murderer

Level 3


Answer:
First, carry the chicken across the river.
Second, carry bag of corn across the river and bring back the chicken.
Third, drop off the chicken and carry the fox across the river.
Lastly, come back and carry the chicken across the river.

Reasoning:
There is no combination of carrying one thing at a time across the river that would protect the lives of all individual after you leave. The key is to separate the chicken from the group because it can eat and be eaten. You must carry it back and forth on some trips to maintain the separation.

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Thank you!

ok you bent my mind and exposed me as not very bright because I didn't get any of them. I was close on the last one, but didn't count on leaving them on the other side so I lost that. And on the 2nd one, I protest the premise that the amputated guy can't be in a marathon. ;)

Just kidding, these were good and made me think. :)

And ps.. I didn't want to show my favoritism too much towards you, but I saw the cheerleader at work in randomwanderings post. ;)

Hey you @davemccoy. Oh, this isn’t my entry. Lol, it’s my teammate. I enticed him with this mind contest and he made his first post.

I read the questions and simply did not have the brain power. Actually, I initially responded with the below. I wasn’t trying to be smart about it, just didn’t understand why the one passenger rule! Seriously, if there was a zombie apocalypse, I don’t have time to make several trips!

3B29622F-9FCD-4BAE-9B5C-EAE1343140B4.jpeg

haha... that is good logic too :) ... On number 2 I thought it was a trick question about the marathon runner because nowdays they actually have olympics for people that lose their legs.... We both looked at the puzzle and found flaw with the premise. I don't know if that makes us smart or stupid, but it definitely makes us funny! :D

Hi @davemccoy. You are absolutely right that an amputee can definitely run a marathon. My reasoning was the murder has his leg amputated one month ago, which is not enough time to have the surgery, recover, obtain a prosthetic leg, work through physical therapy, train for a marathon, and murder someone. Although all those tasks are not impossible to complete in one short month, but I figured it would be highly unlike.

hahaha... very good points! I think you could be a modern day Sherlock Holmes with that analytical ability to think so deeply :)

@davemccoy, our team won 2nd place in the contest! Well, my teammate did all the work. I was just the cheerleader.

It was the marathon question/response that gave us the win. 🙂

hahaha... and very good :) .. that's awesome that you win! We have lots of games going to be happening this week too... Make sure your teammates are ready to play and you also might want to do one of your own ;) ... see my last post about making a game.

Good job to the team of our head cheerleader and my favorite bee on earth!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69122.82
ETH 3737.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68