You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ten Stages of the Mahayana Bodhisattva Path

learning something new is the most challenging thing, I feel how difficult it is to understand every word for word from the teachings of buddhas, but I can understand it in general from the teachings of buddhas, generally easy to understand because there are similarities in Sufi teachings, we are now in the moon Ramdhan, we are required to fast from morning till night, for the fasting Sufis are their daily routines, although not in Ramadan, the purpose of fasting is to cleanse the soul, to increase compassion toward others, and to control anger and emotion,
Have you ever tried fasting and meditation? (done simultaneously). ,,

Sort:  

Fasting, as in limiting food intake is normal at retreat. Too much food makes one sleepy and lethargic. But fasting to the point of hurting oneself is not part of Buddhist practice. When I go to retreat we only eat two meals a day breakfast and lunch.

really food makes us want to sleep and lethargy, I feel with fasting (12 hours) do not eat and drink makes me more understand the meaning of life

With the permission of our friend @reddust, I have had that experience, that of fasting and meditating. It is a rewarding experience if done out of conviction and with an objective in mind. I spent a lot of time in forced fasting (that is a long story that I will soon detail), and after that imposition, I found in meditation to overcome that forced fasting and for about ten years, the fast imposed by the authorities became my ally along with meditation, so I could overcome that time of torment... Our friend @reddust, you know what I mean.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57515.20
ETH 2438.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34