You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ten Stages of the Mahayana Bodhisattva Path

in #mindfulness6 years ago (edited)

Wow
It takes a lot of understanding and insight to put this together.
But does this write up describe a God, a style of worship or a religion? I think I am confused about that and I will be happy to receive an explanation because I really want to know more about it.
You have a shout-out on my Saturday relationship show, you can view the message on my blog whenever you are opportuned to do so.

Sort:  

There is no worship of Gods or deities in Buddhism. The images you see are related to faith and many images deal with visualization practices to integrate meditation insight and practices. Buddhism doesn't negate God or Gods. What Buddhism teaches is a God or Gods, deity, what have you, cannot save you from your conditioning. You must put in the effort to free yourself from old habits and conditioning that blinds you from seeing reality as it is...God cannot save you from self destructive habits.

Buddhism does negate creator Gods, it is our own actions that create (the law of nature, cause and effect, karma) who we are.... However, the text I've read that heavenly beings like, devas, Gods and such, create karma even though their conditioning may be very good, giving them birth into the higher heavenly realms. They will accrue karma through their long life and eventually pass and the heavenly beings will be reborn into the lower realms like ours, which is called the desire realm...or the lower realms like the animal realm or the hell realms...Gods that are jealous, vengeful, speak of killing those who do not believe in them will probably be born as worms or hungry ghosts.

https://www.buddhanet.net/e-learning/qanda03.htm

Oh, I think I understand better. Thanks for taking out to time to explain, I will like to know more as time goes by.
Do not forget to check out the shout-out you have from a steemian on my blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63696.24
ETH 2486.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69