You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ten Stages of the Mahayana Bodhisattva Path

When I read your posts, they way I use for understanding them is not the meaning of the words, but the feeling they cause on me. What I feel is the attempt of overcoming the limitations of the physical body. Please let me know if I am right.

Sort:  

It isn't the body that limits us, it is our conditioning towards the body as self that limits us...

So our body is not an individual entity. It is part of a larger construct. Am I correct in interpreting what you just wrote?

The body is made up of billions of cells and bacteria...which cell is you or are all the cells and bacteria you? What happens to you when cells die and are replaced by new cells?

So the body is billions and one at the same time.

Have you checked out were the self is located?

I have not checked out the answer to that question myself. Some say that self is in the frontal cerebral cortex, however, others say that the limbic system contains our deepest instincts and emotions. Some even say that the celiac plexus in the gut has some consciousness. What would be your answer to that question?

What is always subject to change is not a lasting self...all those systems, the cells and gut bacteria are constantly dying and being replaced, I have found no self in the flux of phenomena

The cells and bacteria die and get replaced (as you said), however, the blueprint in the DNA (of cells and bacteria) remains unchanged.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57515.20
ETH 2438.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34