Mindful Mornings

in #mindfulness7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-11-08 at 8.48.45 PM.png

Thump! My left knee hurt, my dignity hurt more, now I was awake. As I lay sprawled at the bottom of the flight of stairs I had just fallen down I realised two things, firstly that I had found the fasted way down and secondly that it was time to take my power back…

A couple of months back I was in a bad place, I saw myself as a victim and I was miserable because of it. I decided to go and see someone about it because I had noticed that as the years passed my lows had become lower and more frequent, at 25 years young I wasn’t prepared to lose my power, no, not me!

During my first session it was suggested to me that I spend the first 30-60 minutes of my day in a form of meditation, I had considered this a few times before however I had just never wanted to do it, this time was different, this time I was desperate. Since sitting still and breathing doesn’t come easily to me we agreed that my ‘meditation’ would be in the form of a walk along the beach, or any other beautiful location that made me feel at peace, accompanied by a few moments to speak my intentions and the things that I am grateful for.

This ‘Mindful Morning’ routine was to become my daily ritual from that day forth (I am proud to say that in the two, or so, months that have passed since I began I have only missed one day). For the first month things were great, I felt light, stress free, confident and happy, I had my mojo back! My morning routine was my favourite part of the day, I looked forward to it when I went to bed and I jumped out of bed at first light eager to get down to the beach and create some good vibes, but then things began to change…

I started to rush my process, only a little at first, then more so, keen to go and be productive, the problem was that the opposite was happening. The more I rushed my process the less I got done and the less I got done the grumpier I became, it was fast becoming a slippery slope. The morning before I fell down the slippery slope (more commonly known as stairs) I had reached the point of blurting out my intentions in the car on the way to the beach and entirely avoiding what I was grateful for, its very difficult to feel gratitude when you’re stuck in victim mode, before going for a brief, brisk walk and heading back home again to sit at the computer attempting to be ‘productive’ but in reality brooding and agonising over nothing.

Whilst I felt good that I had been consistent with my routine I was honestly feeling very off-track and so as I lay there at the bottom of the stairs (slippery slope) I remember thinking, hah! I get it, I get it, I’ve wandered too far from the path. After I’d wiped the splattered ego off the stairwell wall I had a giggle to myself (appreciating the practical joke *Source had just played on me) and wandered over to a beautiful little spot by the canals to relaunch my process.

It takes time to build a new habit and even longer to build a solid foundation for it. I fully intend to stick to this routine from here on in and so I am aware that this will most likely not be only time I ‘relaunch’ my routine, but I intend to succeed.

  • I refer to the creative energy of the universe as Source energy. Some call it GOD, others call it Spirit, I like Source… it works for me 🙂

For those interested in what my Mindful Morning looks like I will leave you with the first statement that I make every day:

It is a knew day and all is well. My heart, source and mind are filled with gratitude and love. I find peace and comfort knowing that my intentions and desires are being manifested at this moment, now and always by the highest good of the universe and source energy. I am dedicated, courageous, strong and patient and so I know that there is only one possible outcome, the best one. For this I am grateful. So be it and so it is.

Yours in intent,

Jeremy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66