You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Early Schools of Indian Buddhism Series

in #mindfulness6 years ago (edited)

@reddust this is really informative. I remember some of it but most if it is new to me. This is a real solid read. Thanks for sharing this :-)

Emperor Ashoka's contribution to Buddhism has been great and indisputable. As Kshatriya himself he has been involved in the politics and wars of that time but towards mid of reign he turned towards Buddhism and sought unify and consolidate it at his time.

I am not really sure of the exact dates as to the order of the events but his early life was spent partly in wandering and politics and than as a king and in the wars of the region. It is said that after war of Kaling, he found the bloodshed and the brutality of it really devastating and chose to do something about it. His kingdom and court both had some Buddhist influences and it is suggested that a part of his early life was also spent in interaction with monks.

Although people somehow think that Buddhism magically spread around the whole world but as you mention, effort had to be made before that happened. Ashoka's contributions are something that I have always admired.

Sort:  

I will give the compliment to my researcher, my husband @hashcash, we both thank you for your support. I remember reading about Ashoka in some of my first lessons in Buddhism. He was a violent and bloody ruler, but when he was introduced to Buddhism, he completely changed and became a wise and kind leader. However his practice of nonviolence left his borders open to hostile forces, so one must practice wise non-violence, the same goes for compassion. Wise compassion helps people take care of themselves and not become dependent.

Hey @reddust!

You guys have done really solid research on the subject. The subject matter is itself quite complicated given the number of traditions available and not to mention its complicated evolution during the past millennia, enormous amount of time and energy must've gone into it. You really have my gratitude for sharing it all here.

............ and of course thanks to your husband too :D

Most of the work is research, I know the history but not the details, my husband is a detail man and perfect for the job. I am happy you enjoy my Buddhist post @hashcash <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62708.03
ETH 2457.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62