What would you dare to do if failure did not exist?

in #mindfulness8 years ago (edited)

Impossible does not exist. There is only untested.

Imagine all of the people who have been told that it is impossible to talk if you are in two different parts of the world, that it is impossible to swim over an ocean or to fly in the sky in metal construction.

Imagine Beatles when whole bunch of record labels rejected them under the assumption that they will not succeed. Imagine Michael Jordan when he was kicked out of the varsity basketball team. Imagine Oprah when she was fired with an explanation that she is not born for the television. Imagine J. K. Rowling when she was denied by multiple publishing houses. Imagine Walt Disney when he was fired the Kansas City Star because he “lacked imagination and had no good ideas.” Imagine Jerry Seinfeld when he was fired after a poor performance on his very minor role on the sitcom Benson, no one even told him he was fired.

What would happen if they believed stories they've been told?
Would you?

Thomas Edison said: "If I find 10,000 ways something won't work, I haven't failed. I am not discouraged, because every wrong attempt discarded is another step forward."

That is why, starting today, I'd like you to ask yourself only one question.

What would I dare to do if failure did not exist?

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

If failure did not exist, I wouldn't dare. I'd probably retreat to the country side, transform into an empty cocoon of flesh or bone till the day I die. Failure is the most exciting thing in the world, success is brief, fleeting and thoroughly unsatisfying without the failures required to get there.

Well, now when I think about it, you are right.
One does not exist without the other. I thought about it only from one point of view.
Thank you for pointing that out. Without the failure there is no success.

Try to reach Reputation (75) on Steemit and become a better and more creative writer in the process :))

Yeah! That is what I want to hear! You are doing great.

Been a tough trek ... you've definitely got to have stamina on here alright.
Thank you for your encouraging words @eneismijmich :)) You got a fan in the @mindhunter!

"Dare" would not exist. There would simply be boring "doing".

True. You realized that, just like liberosist.
I hope that you get the point behind it even though I phrased my thoughts badly.
Thank you for feedback.

Yup I am in hope with all the others things I have tried to have success and failed in will mean steemit will be a winner.

Failure does not exist in my reality. Failure is only what we perceive it to be. If you don't care what other people think of you, and if you don't fear anything on earth then it cannot limit you.

The Beatles became popular after selling out - that's why the Queen knighted them, the Rolling Stones, Elton John, Rod Stewart etc . They are all playing for the same side.

Oprah is a TV whore that sold her soul a long time ago. Walt Disney was a 33 degree freemason and it is little wonder that he became so popular. Google 'Disney subliminal messages' and look at what Disney hid in plain sight in his movies.

Edison was a minnow when compared to Telsa but Edison gets most of the credit.

I know what you are trying to say and I don't disagree with you. I actually like what you are saying. I am merely adding my perspective.

I speak truth and I am ready to be imprisoned or die for it if needed and I can't fail because failure is only what my mind tells me it is. it took me a long time to find this level peace, comfort and conviction but once you have it you are truly liberated.

Good post.

That is why I posted. I wanted to hear you perspective.
You are right, it is not black or white.

Well written and thought provoking. "What would I dare to do if failure did not exist?" should be a question that everyone asks themselves on a regular basis so that they fulfill their dreams, their goals and ultimately live their life purpose.

I'm glad you like it. Have a nice day!

Very interesting...:)...

Wright brothers were ridiculed by the intellectuals of that time. The books of that time were written to "prove" that such flight is impossible. Wright brothers did not read those books and ignored the ridicule.

Failure is a part of process of learning. Making mistakes and failures is inseparable part of self improvement and education.
Science understands it very well. The whole Scientific Method is designed upon experimenting and making mistakes.

Sadly, our culture has been designed around the unsustainable values that teach that being wrong or mistaken is something to be ashamed of. That makes people live in self denial or desperately and stubbornly fight against admitting that they may have been mistaken.
Our whole education system is build around this insanity. It is actually anti-education - children are taught that making errors and mistakes is something bad. They are judged for making mistakes and forced to compete with others.

(Hmm I think I may write a post about it. This is an important issue troubling our society)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46