Is being a Perfectionist a Good Trait?

in #mindfullife4 years ago

What do you think about being a Perfectionist?
Is it good or is it a mental disorder?

Well I believe that there is a very thin line from being a Perfectionist to getting on to OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder). I do not find any problem in being a perfectionist. When one crosses this line and becomes obsessive with the behavior then it may cause problems with other people around, also one may get involved with unnecessary things which may really not be much relevant resulting into spending time not very wisely.

Well, I thought of writing on this topic as my family always keeps telling me that I try to be too perfect in everything and that sometimes they find it irritating.
Well I do agree that there are advantages and disadvantages of every thing and similarly this may also have some.

But on the advantage side I see that a person who is a Perfectionist have ideals of the highest order. They strive to make the world a utopia; to make everyone's life around them better. To an extent being a perfectionist also tells one level of discipline in their life. They are organized, their efficiency level is high and moreover their dependability is high. One can rely on them for best results output.

Being a perfectionist means a detailed eye for everything and that only results into best outcomes. No rework needed, they may take time to complete but it will be the best output with no rework and that will rather result into saving time.

image.png
Source

So why does one see being a Perfectionist as a problem in any way, rather I would say it is more advantageous.

Well but each coin has 2 sides so does this one.
Yes I do accept that there are some disadvantages also and the first one when I relate to my own-self it one becomes highly critical and also self-critical.
Normally these type of people every time they find themselves at the center of
attention, they manage to find something in their performance to be entirely
inadequate or embarrassing. These type of people sometimes establish an impossible standard of perfection as the only measure of their actions which may lead to them becoming very serious about everything in life. The critical faculty within them takes the control and this prevents them from doing what they can truly enjoy in life by just being light hearted.

So what do you think, is being a Perfectionist good or is it disadvantageous.
Well I always believe that extreme of anything is not good and a balance is the best way to manage.

Though my family says I am a perfectionist but I know that I do maintain a balance. They feel it that way because they are extra careless...hahaha.....so this is another problem when you have to deal with people who are extra careless, a lit bit of your discipline will become burdensome for them and that is what my family is all about. But I still love it, because I enjoy dealing with them in this fashion.

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

Member of


Supporting People Who Help Make The World A Better Place @ecoTrain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.68
ETH 3234.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65