You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to survive any economic downturn or climate shift by becoming self-sufficient and living off the land

in #mindfullife5 years ago

Really wish we had changed direction and moved inland years ago, the coastal soil is terrible to grow in, as a child growing up on the Westrand I recall my fathers property had such a variety of vegetables and fruit, constant supply from the garden.

Sadly when my parents sold in the early 1990's new arrivals stripped the garden for a swimming pool and entertainment center removing almost everything.

Sometimes I wonder why we all thought buying out a grocery store would carry on forever, you definitely made the right move here Julian.

Sort:  

Thanks Joan, I'm still near the coast, although here in the Garden Route we are surrounded by what's left of the Knysna Forest, and the soil is quite good.

Otherwise making your own soil is a criteria, and there is a system to do that, with compost and worms.

We were offered a property along Wilderness Beach (Golden Mile) in 1975 for R30k, had I known then what I know today!!! Newly engaged planning a wedding not having the amount required for a deposit we obviously did not go that route.

Property was between the main road and the lagoon, not on the ocean side. Very tempting at the time to move to George, which we looked into, sadly no employment was available in the region at the time, it really was a tourist paradise.

Yes I know the area, a tourist paradise by the sea, and I have friends on the lakes.

Very pretty area before it was over developed, personally I would prefer to be where you are up in the forests for living. Much better soil and away from direct ocean breeze.

You are welcome to move here, there is property for sale, much of the country will be moving to the Cape in years to come if they can as the last shelter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51