My natural medication is "Meditation"!

in #mindfullife5 years ago

Hello Kind Mindful Steemians!

This week @naturalmedicine posed a question "Do you have a natural medicine story to tell? Come closer - we're listening!"

Often when we talk about medicines/medications, "Evidence" and science behind it come to the fore. And in terms of the evidence hierarchy, randomized controlled trials, systematic review and meta-analysis of those trials are considered gold standard or top of the evidence hierarchy.
image.png Source

Of course, there are lots of debates around the evidence hierarchy and definition of evidence itself and the source above talk critically of this hierarchy with the title "The crumbling of the pyramid of evidence." We will leave that debate for another day or for more learned scientific minds. But even within currently accepted evidence hierarchy, there are lots of top-notch evidence from world leading neuroscientist from world-class universities and institutions Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4 and many others that meditation can improve:

  • memory, awareness, emotional regulation;
  • many mental health disorders including anxiety, depression, stress, pain;
  • prevent age-related gray matter decline;
  • increase cortical thickness and so on.
    Just to name few.

But, as you may have gathered, I’m not here to talk about those level of evidence today. Rather to share my own personal experience and how meditation helped me with some of my physical health problems.

Getting rid of cold sores and throat infection
Although not that serious issues – I used to suffer from cold sores at least 4-5 times a year needing antiviral cream for 4-5 weeks per year. I also used to suffer from throat infection / pharyngitis 2-3 times a year needing antibiotic treatment. This was until 2008/9.

I went to my first 10 days silent meditation retreat (Vipasanna, www.dhamma.org) in the UK in 2009. It was such a life-changing experience for me that I continued one-hour meditation every day in the morning and evening for 2 years or more.

One of the most noticeable health benefits I observed was the reduction in the frequency of cold sore and throat infection and now it is a rare occurrence. Nowadays, I tend to increase my meditation hours if and when I feel I’m coming with cough and cold or some other mild illness and, for me, it helps. Not that I’m advising not to seek medical help – please do. At the same time, our own body and energy do have healing power. This systematic review suggests that mindfulness meditation may be salutogenic for immune system dynamics (Source).

You may also find this video interesting. Here, Neuroscientist Richard Davidson talks about how Meditation Boosts Immunity.

Stopping smoking and alcohol
I used to be a heavy smoker during my University days and I tried giving up six times over 2-3 years. I used all the medication such as nicotine patch, gums, microtabs, inhalators and so on. I gave up smoking for about a couple of months then went back to have those cigarettes again. I gave up again for 100days but restarted again and so on. My love-hate affairs with cigarettes continued for over a couple of years.

Then as I mentioned earlier, I went to my first meditation retreat and I gave up smoking and alcohol after my first meditation retreat without much struggle. Stopping smoking and alcohol after the meditation was like finding the switch off button to those cravings - there was no inner struggle, not wanting to smoke and drink. It was as if miracle - you would know what I mean if you have been addicted to something and trying to give up.

Now, obviously there could be lots of confounding factors but I am convinced, for me, that meditation is my natural medication.

Interested in SGM (Steemit Group Meditation)?
We cordially invite you to Mindful Life community, which resides in the @naturalmedicine server HERE. Our #SGM (#SteemitGroupMeditation) in our virtual Meditation Hall are on:

  • Wednesdays 8:30 to 9:30 pm London time (30 minute session)
    (8:30-8:40 pm check in & brief guidance, 8:40-9:10pm guided meditation and 9:10 to 9:30pm Q & A plus chitchat)

  • Saturdays 5:30 to 7:00pm London time (One hour session)
    (5:30-5:40pm check in & brief guidance, 5:40-6:40pm guided meditation and 6:40 to 7:00pm Q & A plus chitchat).

But you are welcome to join just guided meditation session if time prevents you from joining the whole time.

Please join us – we love to share our Happy Place - Meditation Hall.

Promotion and Reward
This section will contain any promotion or rewards I may be offering. So watch this space. @naturalmedicine is regularly giving away some SBI for Mindful Monday post - use tag #mindfullife #naturalmedicine and drop a link of your post to @naturalmedicine's Mindful Monday post.

FDB0FA941A40402CA5733C6D760DD9A4.jpeg

B11DCCF1093F44D7B12EC8AD439B5882.jpeg

13458A1C5087420789DF92DB9968485F.gif

With Peace Love & Joy 🕉❤️😊
Let’s grow together in wisdom through #meditation 🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♀️

Sort:  

I find the same thing with meditation as my main natural medicine!
You've done your research well and have had some amazing personal results so I thank-you for sharing this!

Thanks @porters 🙏🏼. Yes, there are quite a lot of high quality evidence of meditation benefits.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Thanks miti 🙏🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's a pleasure!

Loading...

One of these days I will join SGM. I need to organize my time better

Look forward to that day 😊🙏🏼🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♀️. You can join the mindfullife community anytime even you cannot join SGM straight away. Mindful kind people will be waiting to warmly welcome you🤗

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is very valuable to me today. I am grateful for your story.

Oh yes - dropping down into those really tranquil spaces resets the immune system and the dopamine function - GREAT natural medicine.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Thanks for sharing this background story with us. I have n doubt that meditation is already improving my health and that one main area is the mind, curing my depression. I am definitely looking forward to see how much bodily issues it can cure too.

I guess I should really give vipasanna a try. In fact, I might even do it in India, later this year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42