Past, Present and Future

in #mindfuck7 years ago

There I was sitting in my Reasoning class. I was gazing out the window and imagining what I could've been doing instead of listening to some dude talk about rudimentary inductive reasoning. Hundreds of activities that I thought would be better than sitting there crossed my mind. Minutes later, when my professor brought up the Theory of Relativity as it pertains to time , I snapped out of a sheepish trance. Since the topic sounded somewhat interesting, I decided to listen for once. The notions he brought are just pure MINDFUCKERY and continue to perplex me to this day.

He began by asking, "Is the 5 year old you real?" The class remained quiet. I thought to myself, yeah i guess, even though I am 18, there are characteristics of my 5-year old self in me. The professor went on to say that the past, present, and future are all equally 'real'. That is just fucking crazy that something one hasn't experienced is still technically 'real'. I guess it has to do with the space-time continuum, but I do not know.

Another mindfuck-worthy idea he introduced is that we will be sitting in class for eternity. Yeah, we will get up and leave and go about our lives, but at that specific point in time I will always be sitting at a desk learning about logic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67462.12
ETH 2623.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67