The Man With Many Souls

in #mind7 years ago

Multiple-Personalities-by-Kelsey-M.-Niziolek-2.jpg
One of the wildest thoughts I had in my earlier years was that of people plagued with schizophrenia. The idea that one man could act so many different ways was very intriguing to me and it made me wonder... If a healthy man has a soul which is the essence of his being, then does that mean that a man with schizophrenia is fettered with clusters of two or more souls in his body? Is he constantly distracted by the indecision of the chattering voices in his head by the sounds of voices not of his own? It's a pretty wild thought if you give it consideration. Is it worth giving consideration to, or is it just the story crafted by an overactive imagination? I'd probably go with the latter, but, who knows.
8cf908e56ebc89174584b2ab869033919c4b2da4_hq.jpg
The other day, I was listening to a gentleman who usually talks about mindfulness and the mind in general. It was a German fellow named Eckhart Tolle. He was talking about how there is a collective mind out there and that all of us are merely an extension of that awareness. I've heard several variations of this and I can't remember where it all came from originally, but I do recall that it all falls onto one simple question: Where do thoughts come from?
image13.jpg

See, it's easy to say that we are who we are... that is, that our body that we see every morning when we are brushing our teeth if who we are referring to when we refer to "I." Can we really say that this is the case for certain though? I mean, yeah, it seems like it makes sense, because we are kind of conditioned to believe that this figure before us is us, but a lot of philosophy would disagree. There is often this idea out there that suggests that what we call Lourdes are not our body, but something else. Some would consider it a souls, and going down the path of Buddhism, it could even be said that there is that which does, that which thinks, and that which observes. It is suggested that we are the ones that observe, but we often take everything that is done by the body too personally.

I don't want to get too deep into this conversation, but I did want to throw something out there. I don't know a damn thing about the truth and I'm not really sure if anybody does. I have a feeling that life is really just a bunch of different opinionated people pulling each other's tails until the others fall in line. I do wonder though where thoughts do come from and whether or not there is some grand collective mind, because I have often swore of having images appear in my head whiled having a clear mind. Where do these come from? Random neurons firing off in my brain? My own thoughts. Visual hallucinations? I honestly haven't the foggiest. It's still fun to think about nonetheless.

dalimontaigne35.jpg

Try it for yourself. Sit quietly in a room in a meditative position or at least with a straight back, and just observe what enters your consciousness. Allow your mind to reach a point where you are comfortable enough to have random thoughts enter, and then have images even penetrate into it. Scientist say that if the mind is left to it's own devices, it will create false realities just to keep itself from going insane. This explains why deprivation chamber can be so therapeutic... It allows the person to experience a world of their own design for a short time. I have noticed personally that after sometime some form of information will start to flow in. Information about the past present and future wondering into the consciousness of the calm mind when you least expect it. It's not very clear or even in a familiar format, but it does eventually come. It's kind of an if you are using a language that doesn't exist, but you understand the meaning behind it still. It's pretty wild to consider. Then again, I might just be pulling your leg or just be as crazy as a loon. I'll let you decide that one. These aren't the things that you bring up over dinner or anything like that, just random thoughts.

multiple_personality_by_alexielart-d46f7gs.jpg

Just a fun thought for the day. Take care!

Sort:  

You got a 8.52% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @thegreatlife!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79