Mimblewimble: Where blockchain is heading?

from CryptoCompare (where you can also find a nice review)


One of my most interesting finds turns out to be a potential solution for what ails Bitcoin. Mimblewimble has found a way to make the blockchain technology behind Bitcoin much more efficient.

... by using the Mimblewimble protocol, the scalability, as well as the privacy of the Bitcoin network could significantly be enhanced.
- courtesy of Bisola Asolo at Mycryptopedia

from pixabay
Serious discussions are considering just how to employ Mimblewimble. Some believe that it would be best incorporated into the Bitcoin architecture itself. What ever happens, once thing is for certain, the devs behind Mimblewimble are not being ignored. Add confidentiality into the mix and we are talking about a very dirsuptive blockchain technology.

Mimblewimble combines versions of several cryptographic tricks designed for Bitcoin. In addition, it utilizes some clever math to completely strip down what typical blockchains look like.
- from Block Frontier (originally Bitcoin Magazine)

from pixabay


Read the whitepaper from a link left by Tom Elvis Jedusor :) or a more up to date version on github.

Mimblewimble may or may not become a stand alone blockchain. If it does, its crypto would likely be the Grin.



... Grin is Cuckoo Cycle Proof-of-Work algorithm...making it perfect for mining with GPU...resistant to ASICs ...to encourage mining decentralization.

- courtesy of Mattia Franzoni at Novamining


You read that right, Mimblewimble is not just out to be the oxpecker on the back of Bitcoin. It is much more bright eyed about blockchain technology.

from pixabay

In a time when blockchain is accompanied by words like:

  • bear market
  • SEC
  • IBM
  • Amazon
  • Googliness
  • China

... an infusion like Mimblewimble is a Godsend.

Let me know what you think.. or what you have found.
Sort:  

I think this posts make me hungry to know all about this Mimblewimble. I've never heard about it before and will certainly want to know more or all that's to know.

This post is much like a poster man would've been better to provide a review. Anyways, I'll do my research!

Thanks for the information.

A formal ICO review does not fit their current dynamic. There is nothing to invest in.

To me, it seems like the devs are keeping an eye on what transpires in the blockchain industry and then adjusting their development. This would be counter intuitive to most ICOs that have a specific agenda.

Mimblewimble might just be trying to stay ahead of any Bitcoin apocalypse or looking forward to a return to the early days when BCH and BTC devs were of the same mind.

I see, this is what I've been trying to figure out from my research so far.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice write up, your efforts are amazing. Almost I understand this post of what you are talking about. But theres a advice please use simple words when you are writing any kind of review so that people can understand it more clearly :)

Please take it in a positive way

Have a great day and wonderful night 😊😊

Thank you kindly.

Tough topic, Mimblewimble is 😊..


from pixabay

-Note: I am not the best with comments (going either way:)

Hi @machnbirdsparo

Is "Mimblewimble" a real word? I mean ... it's hard to remember and even harder to pronauce. What a crazy name :)

ps. you've made your post look like it's a story about dracula or something haha.

ps.2. to tell you the truth, I've read your post 2 times and I still don't know what this project is about ...

Mimblewimble comes from Harry Potter. Devs intend for its discussion to be entertaining. Please see my direct comment responding to you and @jodekss. It should clear some things up.

@machnbirdsparo First of all let me congratulate for the great article. When I read the world "Mimblewimble" it force me to read this article.I am fan of Harry Potter series - this is the first Hollywood movie I watched and after watching this movie I started to read it's book. Ok let me back to the main point as this is related to blockchain not the Harry Potter movie. Just last thing if I am not wrong "Mimblewimble" is the blckmagic - "Tongue-Tying Curse" if I am not wrong.

You read that right, Mimblewimble is not just out to be the oxpecker on the back of Bitcoin. It is much more bright eyed about blockchain technology.

This is interesting, I am going to read more about this topic. Thank you for sharing this as i didn't know that this kind of project exist.

Once again great work my friend @machnbirdsparo. Also thank you @crypto.piotr for recommending this article.

Okey, but you have to make reviews as comprehensive as possible in order for readers to understand. This is way too mixed up, probably you could try and explain better for us through the comment box. Thanks.

The Mimblewimble project is an attempt to tackle some of the most challenging issues facing blockchain. Please see my direct comment responding to you and @crypto.piotr. It should clear some things up.

Mimblewimble - I understand that this name was culled from harry potter and it means a tongue-tying spell. From what I've read, It will make the the blockchain truly private and also very light. You're right Mimblewimble is a Godsend in these times of scalability problems are blockchain bloating!

Splendid post @machnbirdsparo

Cool thanks for the post! I’m going to check them out sometime soon. Anything we can do to improve bitcoin is great, since it’s the most mainstream of the coins.

Agreed. I wonder if Mimblewimble is like a security measure (i.e. fallout shelter for Bitcoin), an alternative to people who doubt the Lightning Network, or a bright-eyed attempt to make Bitcoin more perfect.

I agree, Mimblewimble is certainly a powerful approach, but getting it included in bitcoin might be super hard.

I suppose I was inspired by people expressing concern over the Lightning Network.

First learnt about mimblewimble when writing originalwork's Beam contest. Cool name, interesting concept ! 😀

Yeah. Sounds like fun stuff.

Hi, @machnbirdsparo!

You just got a 5.13% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14