When "the soldier" demands to be treated like a princess...

in #military7 years ago

I have camped at several Christian music festivals over the years. I really like to camp there as opposed to non-Christian places/events because people usually try to be on their best behavior, even if they really are wolves in sheep's clothing. For the past 2 years, I have camped near some trailers that have had porta showers in them. The same guy and his wife have been the ones who have brought and maintained the trailers each year. I like them a lot. And have appreciated having good neighbors like them. One night I saw the man and some woman having a heated conversation. I knew this to be unlike the man. He and his wife worked 17 hour shifts every day and it was particularly hot but still it was unexpected. I figured the "lady" might of had it coming. So, I shined my flashlight to help him see to turn the trailer back on after everything was turned off and he waited as she apparently took a shower. I prayed and hoped whatever the problem was, that they could resolve the issue. After she got out, it sounded like they tried to discuss the situation, again. Things were much more calm. The next night, I got to talk to his wife, she told me that the showers were closed for the night. They closed at 10. This lady came up and pretty much demanded he turned them back on for her because she was in the military. ?????? Are you kidding me????? I just about can't believe it. I thought soldiers were supposed to be tough! I also thought Christians were supposed to be respectful. I have definitely failed at that before but my mouth and heart know when I need to apologize for acting like a fool. Of course, I also have to remember that not everyone at these festivals is a Christian but if they aren't they usually try to behave a little bit. Let me also say that there is a regular shower house that I used pretty much the whole time that I was there that stayed open all night. It was less than 20 feet away from the shower trailers and usually has warm water. So, I thought, I wonder if there are others out there who think that just because they enlisted, they deserve to be treated like heroes, kings, queens, etc. How many won't tell you that they got into the military just for freebies like college and to escape from their boring or poverty stricken lives. I do know that some got into the military because they want to help people. And some do become heroes. But the spirit of Entitlement is a nasty spirit and doesn't sit well with regular "civilians". Selah.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29