Imperial British Great War/WWII Medal Pickups

in #military6 years ago

I recently took a trip to a military show, which was basically a flea market with all the digging around cut out. I got a few more medals added to my collection that I am quite happy with!

IMG_20180428_155616.jpg

The first thing I bought was this wonderful RAF grouping with what seems to be a Vietnam era US chevron that just got thrown in there for some reason. It is getting harder to find medal groupings like this I just had to have this one! Sadly, to my knowledge, the service records of WWII have not been released to the public, so I am unable to research him (well, unless I paid out for it).

This lot is from CPL Waite, and the medals from left to right are the British 1939-45 star, the Africa Service Star, the Defence Medal and the War Medal. It came with his medal forms, his picture, cap badge, eagle, unit picture and a few letters.

IMG_20180428_155621.jpg

The next pickups were a South African medal group [Left] and a WWI War Medal [Right]. This is my second South African medal set like this, and it was awarded to a man named Ackermann. I am unable to research this one because whatever service handles record lookups wants way too much money! The medals, from left to right, are the War Medal, and the African Service Medal, struck in silver.

IMG_20180428_155713.jpg

The WWI War Medal was struck in Sterling silver, and I was able to research this one. This medal belonged to a Royal Artillery Reserve gunner (gunner is equivalent in rank to a private) by the name of Jasper. This War Medal was picked up because it is in great condition when compared to my other ones.

Hope you all enjoyed this post! Make sure to upvote, comment, and resteem!

Sort:  

Very nice set Grenadier !!!!!

Thank you for reading, Mike!

I have a very small collection of WWII stuff. Ask me one day to show you extras I have a little box of metals. 👍🏻

Thanks for reading Vulcan, would love to see them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47