Drill Sargent Leads Yoga Class

in #military6 years ago

Today there was a new yoga instructor listed to guide the Moksha Flow Class - so I thought I would give her class a try.

For today, it was not my preferred style of practice.

Everyone and everything has a place. And there are days where my energy might have matched her miltary sargent style of class - but today was not one of those days.

Thinking to Doing to Being

Everything we learn starts off as philosophical - as a theory... a thought. Then we practice doing it over and over until it becomes natural and second nature.  I know, for my own part, there are times in my life where I gave out great advice, but was not living that advice myself.  I was thinking it.  But I wasn't doing it, and I certainly wasn't BEING it.

And today's yoga instructor started off the class with a flowery quote about the synergy of breath and movement to create meditation - it sounded very promising - but as the class unfolded, it seem to me this instructor was only focused on the physical movements of a memorized sequence of poses.  She recited a nice quote, but that's where it ended.

Instead her 'being' was very matter-of-fact.  Loud voiced.  Abrupt.  And demanding.  Until about 2/3 of the way through the class. There was no direction to build coordinated breathing among the group - no encouragement of shared energy. 

The lack of enthusiasm from the group got through to the instructor and she started to make 'slighting' comments - as though her disapproval might motivate us.  

FAIL.

And to think I selected the unknown instructor rather than attending the class of my favorite guide - partly for the new, and partly for the schedule and time of the class.  Well, this is only the second yoga teacher that I'll put on my 'do not attend' list. 

While I'm certain I'll continue to experiment with every new instructor I see listed - I can't wait for the next yoga class that will truly be meditation in movement.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64119.05
ETH 2765.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66