The Military - why everyone should QUIT - and not join

in #military8 years ago

Normally I would find a great meme to summarize my position but this time I will allow the words to do the work.

For reference I encourage all military personnel to quit. Not just in the US.

First, I am not against "our" ability to organize and defend ourselves. That remains whether "the military" exists or not.

Second, I am not against the people who are in the military, as they are there by contract, and it is very hard to break, but do not re-enlist, do not join, and do not endorse the policies that are literally immoral by their very nature.

Third, stay away from children, there are enough problems in the world with children being forced to fight, we do not need a culture of warmongers created in our school systems. Recruiters need to go.!

I understand that it is a contract; and that arguing about informed consent on the part of the "volunteer" has been made obscenely difficult, as well as receiving a Conscientious objector  status as one who does so must be a pacifist by military regulations.

While I am not advocating people get themselves caged for violating a contract, it stands to reason that as people volunteer for our armed forces, they forget the history of such a thing and how heinous the actions have been, and instead weigh the "benefits", despite the astronomical emotional and moral costs.
It is funded via taxation, a forced payment when one creates value, and must submit to forms to allow for the trespass. (I.E. Taxation is theft)
Not to be out done, the military encourages, promotes, propagandized to get mission objectives accomplished (and funded). This is done in and out of the military, as the public is the "legitimate authority" despite what the politicians believe.
If you like killing people, find a better life skill. Flying a drone is not defending freedom and invading another country only to terrorize the populace is no excuse for "supporting the troops".

Just war theory (jus bellum iustum) is a doctrine, also referred to as a tradition, of military ethics studied by theologians, ethicists,policy makers, and military leaders. The purpose of the doctrine is to ensure war is morally justifiable through a series of criteria, all of which must be met for a war to be considered just.
The criteria listed are not even close to what the military's of today even remotely follow, even with the geneva conventions, and other agreements over how war is to be conducted to remain just, ethical, and somehow moral, despite the morality being completely thrown out. When invading a country, the moral justification must be voiced, and the opposition must be allowed to speak, if we cannot have an open discussion prior to war, then we are leaving our lives and the lives of others in the hands of people who are not to be trusted.

Politicians

I have to address the idea that the military's very existence is based upon the idea of mutual defense. Simply not having an organization monopolized by a central authority does not prevent it from reforming under better circumstances. (Like actual defense) The absolute imperial nature of the excursions the US military has taken is atrocious, the amount of wasted resources is absolutely insane, this includes the fleecing of the populace to pay for the policies that have terrorize this world.

Is this realistic, plausible, ruining? Let me know, I didn't copy and paste the entirety of just war wiki on here to encourage research and discussion. I am willing to change my opinion, but the evidence would have to be insurmountable.
Sort:  

People have found ways out of the military. Remember, their contract is bullshit, because they can change the terms anytime they want.

I asked James Corbett at corbettreport.com a couple of months ago if he had anything I could share with my sister in law who is in the Navy as I have been trying to encourage her to exercise conscientious objector status. The notion (or so she and her new husband who just got out of the Navy have told me) is viewed as an impossible one, dishonorable and all that.
I hope it's not against the way of doing things, I'm new, but I thought I'd share his response because I found the information to be exactly what I was after, in case it helps anyone out there. I don't have a successful outcome to speak of myself, I just remind myself that I can't do it for them, we all get to choose our path.

my message:
Hi James. I hope all is well in your world. I have a question. My sister in law and her fiancee are both currently stationed in Japan with the us navy, he is out later this year but she has a few years yet. My question is could you point me to a good video or article to show them that a dishonorable discharge would be a positive thing since there is no honor in being the hired thug for dishonorable criminals? We have had great conversations on the subject and they are quite open to learning new things. They are just stuck on there is no way to get out unless it is dishonorable and that that is just the end of the world as they know it. Thoughts? Thanks in advance!

his response:
Thanks for the email, Camille. Off the top of my head, a couple of conversations from The Tom Woods Show come to mind. The first is a conversation with Bill Galvin, the Counseling Coordinator at the Center on Conscience & War:

http://tomwoods.com/podcast/ep-404-conscientious-objectors-their-fascinating-history-and-their/

The other is a conversation with two military personnel who filed for and eventually received conscientious objector status:

http://tomwoods.com/podcast/ep-517-two-conscientious-objectors-from-the-air-force-tell-their-story/

Not sure if this will help, but give it a listen and see what you think.

Best,
James
corbettreport.com

@ftlian bullshit contract indeed.

Simply Great Information and Presentation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95