You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Milestone Party! - I'm a Baby Dolphin! - with Prizes!

Damn! That Wild Black Locust Gin & Tonic looks and sounds scrumptious! It's inspiring to learn about. I love black locust flowers!!!! What you've presented is a sweet way to get a little taste of the flowers outside of the time frame that they are flowering. Thanks for sharing!!!!

Sort:  

I'm glad to know someone else who enjoys black locust flowers! Scrumptious is a good description, for sure! Those flowers are unmistakable, even for a beginning forager! And there's no shortage, lol -- those trees have so many flowers. I've got them on my list for making some posts and videos, too.

Awesome! Yeah, I live on the east coast, and was recently in L.A. and I spotted a robinia out there with yellow flowers, that I got to snack on. :) That was nice, since the black locust flower season at home had already passed. :)
Having looked up the yellow flowering locust, apparently it is a cultivar of robinia pseudoacacia. It's fascinating how different it is in appearance, yet it still holds the same species name. Beyond the coloration of the flowers, the bark was very different and didn't have the deeply ridged bark features we typically observe in more mature black locust trees.

Culitvars! Who knows what characteristics are hidden away in the genetics of our wild plants, lol. It's amazing what the breeders can bring out. I'll have to keep an eye out for those. The white ones are beautiful enough. A pair of white and yellow ones put on an espalier, like fruit trees, would be pretty impressive in a landscape.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55