Thank you To 1000 Followers. Do You Know The New Limit For Hypertension?

in #milestone7 years ago (edited)

I am grateful to 1000 followers plus. Thank you for being wonderful and for supporting what I do on the steem blockchain.

     

    Credit: Shutterstock

Wearing my steem spectacles, created by @pilcrow and @sjennon, I observe the distribution below

  • Followers -------------      1038
  • Ghost followers --------      691 (active fans who haven't engaged in my last 100 posts)
  • Dead followers ---------      268 (Fans who have been inactive for over one month)
  • Actual followers (my inference) -------  347

New Limit For Hypertension (130/80 mmHg)


Credit source


As a public health scientist and player in the health sector, I like to follow health news to keep abreast with what is going on generally in the world and particularly in my country, Nigeria. So, I came across an article in punch news, reporting that the limit for hypertension has been lowered from 140/90 mmHg to 130/80 mmHg. According to the source, limit for hypertension was lowered due observation from physicians that complications can happen at the lower limit. See screenshot of Page 22 of the original article, Guideline For the Prevention, Detection, Evaluation and Management of  High Blood Pressure in Adults. Whelton PK et al. 2107, below.


Importance of Knowing Your Blood Pressure Numbers

The theme for World Hypertension Day, 2017 is know your blood pressure. When you monitor your blood pressure regularly, then you'll be able to discover early on when hypertension sets in and see your cardiologist for proper management. It becomes difficult and expensive to manage hypertension when there are complications such as cardiovascular disease (CVD) and chronic kidney disease (CKD), especially in low resource settings like Nigeria. 


When last did you check your blood pressure? Do you know what the numbers mean? 




Sort:  

Blog shared on twitter.

Wao! Congratulations @maryfavour

You attracted and achieved this because you lead right. We can only check a leader's worth through his/her followers.More height you will attain.
Thanks also for the reminder on how important it is to always check our BP.

Some people hardly find time to do this except if they breakdown.

More grease to your elbow.

@maintain4real-eu

You attracted and achieved this because you lead right. We can only check a leader's worth through his/her followers.More height you will attain.

Amen to your prayer for me. Thank you. I wish you great height too.

Some people hardly find time to do this except if they breakdown.

I'm glad that you understand the point. When you have time, read my response to @theheralds comment on this thread. Cheers.

I wish people here in Nigeria would pick up the papers and be aware of this. Most people don't even know they have high blood pressure for so long till it symptoms become unbearable to them. My mum being a nurse has helped so much in creating awareness in my environment. She does monthly health talks and blood pressure test and blood sugar test free of charge in our church. She was prompted to do this when a church member that seemed so healthy came to complain of so many stuffs going on in his body. She just did random sugar test it was so high , she did blood pressure test so high too. She was amazed that people do not do these check ups regularly. I will share and hope more people are aware of the new limits

Most people don't even know they have high blood pressure for so long till it symptoms become unbearable to them.

Ignorance about so many things, including our health status has made us to be where we are and not grow/develop as fast as we should. Health doesn't sell in Nigeria, unfortunately. It is only when Nigerians are about to die that they go to the hospital. My response to @theheralds comment would help you
understand how I think about people and their attitude towards their health.

My mum being a nurse has helped so much in creating awareness in my environment. She does monthly health talks and blood pressure test and blood sugar test free of charge in our church. She was prompted to do this when a church member that seemed so healthy came to complain of so many stuffs going on in his body. She just did random sugar test it was so high , she did blood pressure test so high too. She was amazed that people do not do these check ups regularly.

Fantastic! I didn't know that your mum is a nurse. She is really doing a great job from all these things that you have stated. One third of Nigerians are hypertensive. I have the article, since hypertension is one of my research areas. The end result is how to reduce risk factors for primary prevention of hypertension.

I will share and hope more people are aware of the new limits

Thank you very much for this. Keep up the good work.

Actual followers (347)..... That's an interesting one still.

I say so cos I have just about 10 active followers out of the 200.... Hahaha!

Congratulations.

I say so cos I have just about 10 active followers out of the 200.... Hahaha!

It's a good thing that you see the huge difference in order to understand that the large numbers don't really matter. Welcome to my blog first time, @mimy. Steem on!

Well done on this ma'm. More rewards coming your way.

Thanks, @glogo. I'm glad that you visited.

More rewards coming your way.

Amen to the prayer. God bless you, sister.

Bless you too sis. Great women like you are like diamonds. Steem high!

I havent check my BP for awhile. Usually at the local supermarket, they have a pharmacy as well, and they have this machine that everyone can use, but I havent seen one for awhile. might have been broken or something.

Congrats on the so many followers!

Glad to see you here, @indorecipe. Oh oh! Please, try to check your BP ASAP even if it means your having to visit the nearest health centre.

Usually at the local supermarket, they have a pharmacy as well, and they have this machine that everyone can use

This is true. There are digital BP monitors in almost all pharmacy stores close to my house here . All I need do is just to walk across the street, go into the pharmacy store and get my BP checked.
Much appreciation of your goodwill. Cheers.

Congrads @maryfavour the SteemIt trip has just started!

Thank you, @steemitqa. Indeed, the steemit has just started with 1000 + followers. Hmm...what a ride! It appears that zappl is doing some kind of upgrade. The video url I linked to zappl from my youtube channel didn't attach well.

Congrats MA, on the level of success u have achieved in steemit.

Thank you for the goodwill, @sbamsoneu.

When last did you check your blood pressure? Do you know what the numbers mean?

Funny enough I know more about high blood pressure, my dad is a doctor, mom is a nurse, SIS is a med. lab scientist but I haven't for once checked my blood pressure..😂

Lol..... That means you must be stubborn cos I am sure your dad and mum would have pestered you to check especially if you have the machine at home.

@camzy

We have the machine o
But no one has thought of checking mine

1000 followers, We congratulate you. You have been getting many successes in the same way. You get all the happiness in your life.

Hahahaa...you went to extract my photo. That's interesting. Thank you, @ahlawat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82