The obligatory 1 year on Steem milestone blog post!

in #milestone6 years ago (edited)


cake-smash-2485718_640.jpg
Image Source: Pixabay

Woah! Who would have thought that I have been on this platform for a year now? A whole year of reading, writing and interacting with people from different nationalities and countries. A whole year of reading other's niches, interests and thoughts all the while trying to write my own --- daily.

For someone who had troubles passing his English subjects in his student days, me having been able to consistently write an English blog post a day for a year now (with almost no fail) is already a huge accomplishment for me, personally.

Anyway, that's not exactly what I want to share here on this milestone of a blog post. As usual I just wanna share my Steem progress here for all to see. Some people ask me why I do this, why I track my progress. And the reason is actually pretty simple: Seeing the numbers increase motivates me!

As someone who still haven't invested any real money in here, seeing your Steem Power, reputation and followers grow without the need to pay the system or bow to no one honestly feels great. This might be hard to believe but I'm not really here 'solely' for the money but more like a fun investment hobby. I write my thoughts and my interests all the while investing something into the future.

And so without further ado, my year long Steem progress. (This probably will be the last time you see this table as another year another table it will be XD)

MonthSteem PowerReputationFollowersUA ScoreRank
February4152250
March8454.7355
April13056.38485
May24659.2612
June36060.4801
July55461.28837
August74661.968763.1248896
September106363.479053.3047427
October128664.579423.5286274
November155565.499503.5645917
December181066.169523.5725929
Increase:+255+0.67+2+0.008-12

image.png

Yep! That's right! After a year of constant posting and interacting with the blockchain I am now a proud hodler of around 1810 Steem Power. Not bad for someone who didn't invest any real money in here nor someone who started with no friends or influence on the platform. When I first started here I was literally only a small unnoticeable plankton who often times get ignored when I try to interact with the dolphins/orcas/whales of Steem's big blue sea.

Admit it! Whenever you get a reply/comment from someone with a low reputation we often times mistook them as a 'random' comment, or worse a spam, a troll or someone's alt account looking for trouble. As for me, I try to reply comments at night and then I forgot all about it and end up replying days after. I do dig up replies though and try to reply to them all. Thanks guys! XD

But now I have a rep along the 60's so most often than not, people now take me a little seriously and most people think I know what I'm talking about when sometimes I am just ranting out random things. XDv


MY STRATEGY

Well some of you might probably be wondering what I did differently to you guys, especially those who are still struggling to survive on Steem. Were my posts really that "of quality" to get this amount of SP or did I use too much bidbots to promote my posts and try to game the system?

Well the answer is NO! Since 5 months ago, I've stopped the use of bidbots to promote my blog posts. As a matter of fact I even did a little blog post all about it here: Have I finally given up on powering my account? The reason why I'm no longer using bidbots.

What's somewhat surprising to see though is that if you look at the table above, the month after I've stopped using bidbots I have accumulated almost double the increase in my Steem Power. Provided that the reason for this might have something to do with the declining value of Steem/SBD in the market, but the point is: It doesn't matter if I use a bidbot or not. If dolphins/orcas/whales like me then they will upvote it. If they don't know me or I'm not their follower then they won't.

And so after realizing that, I've just stopped promoting my posts lol My posts were kind of quality back then though considering I am still getting some upvotes from those posts even today from users who are new to the platform. (I used to post about Steem Tool reviews, tutorials and all what to know about the Steem platform.)

Anyway, my strategy after that was to maximize the upvotes from different Steem Platforms. I've read many planktons/minnows complaining about how little the upvotes from @esteemapp are or from @steempress-io or from @steemhunt but in all honesty, back then, most of us have to settle for the measly @busy.org upvote since it was the only platform that gives out upvotes. So people who are getting around $0.7 -$1.2 daily from ESteem should be far more grateful since I can still remember some of my 500 word blog posts months ago to be earning only less than a dollar.

And here's a little breakdown as to how much I've gotten and how much I've already posted via those platforms (shown here are only the upvoted blog posts; comments are excluded). And yeah! I switched back to Busy.org even though their upvotes are still measly. XDv


image.png

My other strategy was to delegate half of my SP to a community that supports decent content creators like myself. In order for one to support other content creators, one must first have a decent support first. And so for months I've tried to increase my daily guaranteed upvotes using those amazing Steem communities.

So far, they have been really very helpful on my blog posts as seen here on how much they've already contributed on my blog posts:


image.png

At least now, I wouldn't be that much disappointed anymore after I write a 1000 word blog post article like this one since I know that I am always guaranteed a $1-$2 dollar daily. In theory I could post a picture of our cat daily and still get a guaranteed $1-$2 but I won't do that. I maybe not an amazing content creator but I pride myself for consistency. I always try to publish at least one post a day and the rewards from those posts albeit 'little', but when you look at it monthly or even now yearly, it's just enough to give one satisfaction. XD

Last but not the least, I want to give thanks to the top people who supported me and my blog posts:


image.png

@neoxian (aka Mr Dragon) who single handedly had already given me around $518.65 worth of upvote. Wow Thanks Mr Dragon! Very much appreciate all the support. :)

After 5 months of constant posting I've finally found myself an orca/whale supporter. The lesson here is consistency pays. I didn't stop posting when my payouts where 'disappointing', I continued to write and write until I found someone who can give my blogs a decent support. So Thanks again Neo.

Also thanks to @techslut, my first ever friend and supporter here. I know I've already said this countless of times before but if it wasn't for you I probably would not stick with this platform this long. So Thanks once again! :)

Also thanks to @dimimp and @nathanmars, both of which gave me a decent SP delegation for some time in the past. The delegations you guys shared also played a huge part in me increasing this much SP, reputation and possibly even the increase in my follower count. So Thanks again guys! XD

Also thanks to @filotasriza3, @ascheriit, @culgin, @costanza, @fullcoverbetting, @minersean and others for the constant support and engagement on some of my blogs.

A shout out too to the people in Neoxian's Discord Server to which is the only place I hang out: @xawi, @ifeoluwa88, @burlarj, @rehan12, @udezee, @mango-juice and others (will edit this one later XD)

And last but not the least to the platform that probably made all this possible and to one I highly encourage to check out: Musing.io. Thanks @jonching et al.


image.png

Sort:  

Hey @jlordc. Its nice to see you progressing here in Steemit! I am so happy and amaze how you managed things in this platform. Lodi jud kaayo ka idol! XD

Hope to see us progress more in this platform. At times like this, we'll be having some strong heart to endure the price.

Keep Steeming :)

Happy steemit birthday pope!

Thanks Burlarj! :)

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Congratulations pope, it feels good to read about your growth. It gives people lole me hope that there is always a better day ahead if we believe and show consistency in our way.

May this new year be awesome and wonderful than the past one.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Ifeoluwa!

And yeah I think consistency is the key for us free users. :)

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Grats man! 365days on steemit... You rock pope... It's been awesome knowing you
I love ur organic sp.. 🤗
Musing.io is a boss.
Thx to Mr dragon ( @neoxian) for all he does for us his citizen - the big boss

Yep! Thanks to Neo and you guys!
And yeah you should also check out Musing.io, it's a pretty cool platform. :)

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Congrats! A great year with great accomplishments!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks Minersean! :)

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Happy Steemiversary @jlordc!

Great to see you are still going strong and growing here on Steemit.

We die here!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol We die here! :)

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Happy anniversary bro, that's quite a beefed SP, you are an existence in this platform that will show how the drive and passion in the game can be your best weapon and I will forever be in your debt with all the support and shoutouts like this one for instance lol. Though my time has been cut short these days due to work, I am glad that I am still being mentioned here lol. Anyway congrats again and here's for another fruitful year! Kampai!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! And no problem! I understand.
Irl work is still more important :)

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Happy steem birhday @jlordc
A very well written anniversary post! It is amazing to see your growth which does also motivate myself!
Keep on blogging!

Thanks Peter! :)

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Amazing post bro. I'm no way near your achievements. I see one big difference between you and me. I did an initial investment in the middle of the year to kick start and you used bit bots a bit to boost your earnings.

After reading your post, I now think that my anniversary post should have been a little better. 😁😂 Nevermind.

I wish you a great year ahead. A healthy competition is good right. So I'll try to surpass your SP at least this year. Best wishes to you bro. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Bala! And I'm somewhat positive you will surpass me soon seeing your tremendous growth on Musing.

Keep on rocking! :)

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72