Kung Fu philosophy- what are you today? what are you right now?

in #midnightkungfu7 years ago

I saw this video and wanted to share it. If you are following me then you like Kung Fu for more than just seeing me blunder around a gym late at night. You like the idea of Kung Fu. I bet the author of this video does too. He says that goal setting is too tedious and psychologically exhausting for most to succeed. If your goal is reachable at the end of the year, then you are in a state of failure until that point later down the road when you can achieve your goal. You want a black belt? well then you are in a state of failure until your teacher gives you one- this can be years! Then when you get it, the moment is fleeting and you need a new goal soon afterward.

Part of the reason I post is to share the daily-ness of Kung Fu practice. The author of the video says you need a system of success, something that happens regularly to push you forward. When I practice, I don't think, "ok todays the day, today I perform the form flawlessly, as good as my Sifu!" My goal is to practice one move for a long time, to keep elbows in, keep back straight, remember the rhythm of this sequence. If I just work on the little aspects of the greater system of movements, then I will grow and one day my work will be very distinguishable from my previous work. I will be successful because I practiced today. And that means I am still on the path today, which is where I want to be.

So where are you today? On the path? at the start of it? Are you walking it or waiting for your goal to drop out of a tree for you?

Sort:  

Congratulations @stacks056! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Positive Mental Atitude :) thanks for the share !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60607.86
ETH 2620.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52