"Midnight, TX" -- Reading the Books and the new TV Series

in #midnight7 years ago

midnight_nbc-1040x592.png

Website for the series from NBC https://www.nbc.com/midnight-texas?nbc=1

Charlaine Harris is one of my favorite authors. Many of her series are based on believable people with paranormal aspects to their lives. I read the Sookie Stackhouse series and became addicted to the characters and their stories, even though I am not in general a "vampire" person. Sookie was so real and relatable, and Charlaine was such a perfect author, that it didn't matter to me. I just enjoyed the series so much.

I didn't even realize until halfway through the series, that this story was the basis for the
"True Blood" series on tv, that I have never watched. I do know that it was very popular. But, as I said, I was not a vampire aficionado.

I looked to see what else I could read from this author, and came across the Midnight, TX series.

midnightcrossroad.jpg

The characters and stories were so full and slow and believable again. It was wonderful to get to know each layer of story in this cast of characters, much larger than the average novel and quite complex in history for everyone.

Just like at the end of every wonderful book or series, I get kind of depressed because I want to know more about their stories, their relationships, and their lives. I guess that is why some people write fan fiction. Some characters are so compelling, that you don't want to let them go.

The new tv series started this summer on NBC. It is very interesting and they chose the actors well. The story is so fast and dramatic, so much happens in each episode. It is a completely different pace than the books, and I am not even sure that they stayed in the same book in the first hour of the show! I guess that the TV audience needs more action and drama. I enjoyed it, but it is really different. I would really recommend that you read the books first if you can.

Charlaine_full.jpg

Author photo of Charlaine Harris from her website. http://charlaineharris.com

I am on the 11th book in another series from Charlaine Harris about a librarian that is always in the middle of murder mysteries. It is very different from the paranormal stories, but so well done. The series is about Aurora Teagarden. On the author's website, it says that they have made one or more stories about this series into a show on the Hallmark Channel.

Another series that I really enjoyed was about Harper Connelly, who has a paranormal talent to be able to tell how a person died when she visits their graves. Very interesting stories there as well!

Bottom line - LOVE Charlaine Harris. I prefer reading her books before seeing any tv shows or movies. You do what you like, but if you think you might enjoy her stories, check them out!


Signature Block Sally Witt.png

Images are either taken by me, in my personal collection from family, or have "license free to use, share, or modify - even commercially", and/or are sourced from websites with attribution below.

Sources for research and photos:

http://charlaineharris dot com/midnight-crossroad/
https://www.nbc dot com/midnight-texas?nbc=1

1-sally_greenwood 2.jpg

This is me, Sally K Witt, getting an award from our US Congressman James C. Greenwood before I got sick and had to stop working. I kind of like this photo!

@sallykwitt.png
DQmWyjim1tiFPoEwRSmAHPjjLPFkQmNrpkUa5PW6KL73GhY_1680x8400.jpg

There you go! If you have any issues, please stop by PAlnet for any questions
Get informed and Join the future: https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

(Originally Shared by @swelker101 on https://steemit dot com/minnowsupportproject/@swelker101/a-visual-guide-to-the-streemian-sign-up-process-for-palnet-graphic-heavy, I am just so thrilled with the group that I want to help promote it!!)

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.26 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I appreciate it @drotto and @banjo!

I am sure you do.

My mother and father.

what is your father name?

What a great write up about your fav author! :) Yes, and you look fantastic in that picture. I would have posted it too! Gotta save all the good pictures and memories on the blockchain!

Thanks so much @karencarrens. Your support means the world to me!!the world.jpg

great post!

Thank you so much, I really appreciate your support.

This sounds really interesting ;)

I haven't that much time to read books but I might watch the first few episodes to get a taste of it ;)

Greetings from
Djangos story @juicypop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77