THE REASON BEHIND MY FEAR OF MICROPHONE

in #microphone6 years ago (edited)

When I was a child, I always love to sing. My mother would always appreciate me every time she hears me sing and I loved it. So, I sing even more and more.

One day, it was the town’s fiesta. I guess I was around eleven years old at that time. We went to my aunt’s house because they were preparing some food in celebration for the fiesta. They have decided to rent a karaoke machine. We were all so happy when we saw it. After we ate, we directly went to the karaoke machine. We chose songs from the song book. I remember my brothers chose first, then it was my cousins, two of them to be exact, my sister and then it was finally my turn. While I was just watching the song book to be handed by me, my heart jumped for joy. In fact, I saw it shining brightly like the stars in the sky. Haha! That’s how excited I was before and I was still a kid. I was finally holding the song book and searching for a song. Unfortunately, I did not know which one to choose because most of them are English songs. Thankfully my sister helped me in choosing songs. We both decided to choose “ISANG LINGGONG PAG-IBIG” as a song for me. Yeah! I did still remember what I chose at that time.

NXO1780IVG.jpg
*IMAGE SOURCE - https://stocksnap.io/photo/NXO1780IVG

I waited for them to finish singing. It was like forever. But then, I enjoyed listening especially to my brother as he sang. There were many people and they clapped for him. The karaoke machine reveals scores after the end of the song. My brother got 92. They all clapped for him. Then, it was my sister’s turn. She also got a very high score. They all did. Then finally, it was my turn. I was excited but I cannot hide the nervousness I was feeling. I was even trembling because I was worried and scared and I felt so pressured. Haha! Just because of singing.

I was holding the microphone and started singing my hearts out loud. After singing, it was time for the scores to be revealed. I was expecting for it to be a high one too. Unfortunately, I only got 72. They started laughing at me and telling me that I was a bad singer. I really felt so bad and so devastated for what just happened. I nearly cried. I decided to go home because I couldn’t hide my tears anymore. While I was out, I started crying until I reached home. My mother saw me and hugged me so tight. She was so worried about me. She kept on asking me about what happened and I just kept on crying. When I felt a little bit okay, I told my mom about what happened. She comforted me by saying that the scores on the karaoke machine doesn’t tell if you are a bad singer or not. She said that it was just a joke and to never believed it.

1964860_228433867362955_1065340594_n.jpg

After that, I went to my room still feeling so bad. I promised to myself that I would never hold a microphone again. I started crying then and eventually I fell asleep.

It was many years ago but it was still very fresh in my memory. Ever since, I kept my promise. I still sing as I love it so much but never ever with the use of a microphone. Haha! In fact, I have “We sing” app on my phone. It allows me to record my voices and the way I song but I just kept it to myself.

Sort:  

Oh, those karaoke machines lie! Keep singing. Do what you love!
Xoxoxoxoxo

Don't obsess over what people think. They get a reflection of your choices in life. They never get to see what makes you make those choices. Do what you love to do.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

I hate how experiences like that can stick with us over the years. ((Hugs)) A machine can't judge how well we sing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82