Stray Dogs and their homes

in #mgsc6 years ago

So in case you have missed it

My Name is Karin and I am totally a dog person. I grew up with one at home, later on we used to train guide dogs that would help blind people, and my latest dog came from the animal shelter in Sint Martin. Beautiful creature right? Hard to imagine how bad he looked when we got him, but a shelter saved him from the streets.

h2mytokb30.jpg

You can say I am a sucker for dogs. So what was cool about the dog shelter in Sint Martin is that it runs entirely on donations, and the help of 2 people. And these are loving hardworking people.

Sint Martin (a tiny island in the Caribbean sea) has a crapload of stray dogs. What the foundation tries to do is have a spay and neuter program. This is how you actively long term make a change. Make sure you do not get too much new ones.

What they also do

Is have a program that a lot of the rescued dogs get relocated in the US. Also a really good real, and they almost have to, because Sint Martins island is so damn small.

Hurricane.

Well, one the bad things that has happened last year is that we had major hurricane Irma smashing us. And with smashing I mean, break down the house smashing. So the shelter was gone, and the house of the lady that runs the shelter was also gone.

You can imagine that this was not easy rebuilding it all back to a functional level but they are doing a good job.

So what is the dream now then??

I am going to move to Switzerland next week for a totally different job. But the dogs are always something in my back head. Now I do not know if you know anything about Switzerland, but life is expensive as f*k there. Which means that my nursing job will only provide me with a tiny appartment somewhere in the city.

But what I actually would love to have, is a bigger house outside the city (but not too far so I can still do my hospital job), and have a big piece of land around it. And on this piece of land I would love to do something with sheltering dogs. That could turn out into multiple things. That could be that I either myself keep a lot of dogs of the land, or I use the land to foster the dogs to get them to forever homes, or use the land as a transit station for the Sint Martin dogs.

![Shelter18.jpg()

You understand which direction I am going right?

I can never buy/rent the damn land. So this would be my dream. Raising funds to give those doggos a better life out in the mountains.
Do you want to help me?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60968.19
ETH 2367.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56