MÈXICO IS A GIFT FOR THE SENSES

in #mexico6 years ago (edited)

B62643B2-D7F2-462A-8AE8-09B28C2A36F2.jpeg
.
.
When I went to México for a week, attending an invitation from my friend Eliana, I was surprised by the richness of its historical stages, past glimpses and new experiences. I discovered that México is even more beautiful than the publicity we see on TV. As my friend lived in the capital of the country (México DF), it was very easy to navigate and to make plans for each day.

2B005C65-9251-4A27-BAE1-
612BC552E06A.jpeg

In México you can discover a city steeped in tradition and modernity, where you can go from one century to another just by crossing the street.
I explored traditional neighborhoods everyday, and their gastronomy encouraged me to experience new dishes each time I had the chance: whenever I tried a dish, it was so delicious I was already convinced to try a new one.

C701FE3D-5CC8-46E5-BF5B-F1E7F6204A53.jpeg

That is México City, a place full of inspiration for me.
The romantic streets and the architectural beauty, made me fall in love with the city, besides its safety and cleanliness.
México City has an absolute authenticity and its artistic spirit is everywhere to be found.
Another plan we enjoyed was walking down the famous street of La Reforma, drinking
coffee and eating desserts in unique and delicious bakeries. Contemplating their
facades and some museums, it was inevitable to enter to the Archaeological Museum. How fortunate are Mexicans, with so much cultural wealth!

1D94FB29-F918-4BC6-96EB-BEA640B2B8E1.jpeg

As the city is so big and there are so many places to visit, we decided to make a tour on a tourist bus. It was great and fun to observe the city from the bus’ second floor and to enjoy its stops in the most popular places.
I spent my last two days, in these three must-see destinations:

C59AD60F-4116-4E66-98D8-0DCFA2102800.jpeg

The Frida Kahlo Blue House (this visit deserves a complete post)
The Basílica of the Virgin of Guadalupe.
The Pyramids of Teotihuacán.

Visiting Teotihuacán, the city of the gods, I felt my soul flooded with peace and my eyes filled with astonishment, because of the view of the Mayan Metropolis.

2B1CA2EB-8396-4786-9BB9-F60DF66FD7FF.jpeg

We stayed for four hours in the Mayan city, time enough to walk around and climb the Pyramid of the Moon, from where the view was beautiful: like a reward for climbing 364 steps.

The last destination was the basílica of the Virgin of Guadalupe.

591D5FCD-6042-489C-9AB4-B17CE987AC21.jpeg

The Basilica of Guadalupe is one of the most important sanctuaries of the Catholic religion. Through its doors, thousands of tourists and parishioners walk across daily: people who come from around the world to see the “La Virgen Morena”, the affectionate nickname that the Mexicans gave to the virgin that appeared on that area.
Inside it stands out a monumental organ with more than 11,000 flutes, made with a metal alloy and spruce wood. This place is meant for everyone: there is even a portrait of the Virgin in embossed paper, created especially for blind people.
Visiting the sanctuary is an invaluable spiritual experience: do not hesitate to go when you visit Mexico City. Each place I visited in México City made my adventurous spirit feel full and made me want to return, to explore their villages full fantasies and colorful parties.

Until next time, my dear readers.
Xo,
Eli

18E0AC71-6D61-4879-9787-3599D61EAD52.jpeg

Sort:  

Awesome!!
following you, upvoted!
Happy Women's Day!

🙏🏻 thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57326.97
ETH 2428.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32