Credit Card Debt? Probably you look for immediate rewards

in #mexico6 years ago (edited)

Today I was trying to do some research into personal finances, my idea is that I made mistakes in the past because I didn't have enough information. Reading a scientific paper from the American Economic Journal, I found that 45% of credit card holders carry a balance on their credit cards. That number can tell us a lot about how we use them.

adolescent-bag-beautiful-919436.jpg

To finance a big purchase that we cannot afford. To have a dopamine high.

A few years ago I was one of those who will carry a balance from one month to another. In my mind, if I could pay the minimum payment, I was on the other side. The problem is that I never made basic math to see how much I was paying on interest.

Now after some financial education from a friend and some personal research I realize that I was making a huge mistake. That carrying a balance is a waste of money that can be avoided with little effort.

In the same paper, they did some research on how we plan ahead and how this influence how we use our credit cards. They did this research to see if people with a desire for immediate consumption, have higher credit card balances.

The conclusion from the study is that individuals who prefer immediate rewards are more likely to borrow.

The paper mentions that credit card debt is different from other types of debt from the psychological point of view, so we should not extrapolate these findings.

Sort:  

You got a 7.66% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @luismmolina!

@dailyupvotes is the only bot with guaranteed ROI of at least 1%

You got a 14.29% upvote from @votejar courtesy of @luismmolina!

You have been defended with a 11.11% upvote!
I was summoned by @luismmolina.

Congratulations @luismmolina! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 32.26% upvote from @whalecreator courtesy of @luismmolina! Delegate your Steem Power to earn 100% payouts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53