You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking a parallel path... Progressive Rock while not always metal was influential [Metal Tree: 5]

in #metaltree8 years ago

The Nice...awesome! I bought their album as soon as it came out. Nice was a Brit slang term for meth dealers, by the way. Keith Emerson's organ version of Dave Brubeck's
Rondo (Blue Rondo ala Turk) was incredible.

Sort:  

I debated putting The Moody Blues into that post as well as some of their works I think definitely could be considered Progressive.

I don't know what happened to them. Their first album was really good and then they got weird. I think they were trying to prove what good musicians they were by incorporating Classical into their stuff. I might have included the Animals...they were pretty progressive and definitely had their own sound.

I totally forgot about the Animals.

When you mentioned the Moody Blues all of these weird Brit bands popped into my head. The Animals of course weren't weird, but there were groups like the Beau Brummels, the Zombies (who were actually pretty good) and a bunch of other less known groups.

I may have to check them out and edit this post. I'm waiting a couple of hours at least so I have whatever suggestions you and others come up with before I start researching and potentially editing the post to make some additions.

Weird is sometimes a hallmark of Prog too. :)

Edited... added The Animals, The Moody Blues, The Beau Brummels, and The Zombies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48