You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Did I just hear that? What is this? I've never heard anything this intense... Thrash Metal [Metal Tree: 11]

in #metaltree8 years ago

I'm confused when you talk about Motorhead pioneering the double bass drums. keith Moon used them in the mid 60's as did Ginger Baker of Cream. For some reason I never cared much for Metallica, doesn't mean they weren't good, I just never liked them. Dime was perhaps the greatest Metal guitarist ever. Being a guitarist myself, very few have amazed me, Alvin Lee and Dime are perhaps the only two. I loved Sepultura and was very disappointed by the reaction of the Metal "purists" when they began to incorporate indigenous instruments into their music. I thought it was awesome! Another great post, as always. (Thought you might get a kick out of this) A Metal guy at 70:

Sort:  

They used them. They did not use them in the pattern or style that became common in Thrash Metal. Double Bass has been around for a long time. The pulsing driving constant pound of them though is said to have first occurred on the song Overkill by Motorhead. He did not get the double bass to do that, he was just trying out the new stuff and the rest of the band heard that particular pattern and decided to write a song to it. Obviously it had been around as an instrument for far longer than that as that is not even why Motorhead had the double bass themselves.


Start that video from about 4:22 and it talks about the double bass... this is actually Sam Dunn interviewing him and it is in that video that I first learned this information.

Metallica as guitarists were better overall than MOST people playing at the time they played. I of course didn't start playing myself until I was 16 or 17, so I was already into Metallica before I played guitar.

Looking back now I think Kirk Hammett is pretty good, but I wouldn't call him great. There are so many people that swamp him in terms of skill. He does get some nice use out of that Wha pedal though. :)

Dime definitely was a bad ass. I really like John Petrucci a lot too... that guy is phenomenal and very disciplined... practices 6+ hours a day to this day and has since he was in high school. I'd say there are few better in terms of skill.... there are people that are better that have that sort of magic spark that can't be taught or learned like Hendrix and Dime seemed to have had.

Yet if you want to go on the top notch level you can get out of sheer practice and study then I put Petrucci at the top there. He stands along those like Vai and Satriani.

Check out Daniele Liverani

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48