You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Metal Tree: [2nd Edition] Before there was heavy metal... [Metal Tree: 2]

in #metaltree7 years ago (edited)

Love this post! When I came across this song from Bach, I always thought it would sound cool though on some metal guitars.

.
The player is even banging his head a little lol. I was very happy to see you put some other Bach in there along with Wagner.

I absolutely love the blues, so I'm also very happy to see you put Robert Johnson and the reference to the movie Crossroads in there. That movie very heavily influenced my style as I was learning to play guitar as a little kid. Rye Cooder's playing still blows me away every time I watch that movie even now, and Steve Vai just slayed it in that final scene. I went right down the rabbit hole into the blues after I saw and heard that.

Edit: Somebody put one together!

Sort:  

Thanks for the reply. Replies with more music that are relevant to the post are always welcome. That is a big part of how I'll be extending future posts in the 2nd Edition series by also using a lot of stuff from replies or being inspired by it that people replied to me with the first time around. There was no such material for this particular post, just my own, but look at yours some day in the future that might help me build a 3rd Edition if time plays nice with us and I feel the need. :)

Oh and I can TECHNICALLY play blues, but I don't have that magical FEEL (I like to call it the groove) for it. It sounds like rock or jazz rather than blues to me. I've come to associate having a GROOVE with every style of music. Some people hit that magic spot in styles of music and they just HAVE it, and that part has nothing to do with technical skill. I've only ever hit that spot once with blues, and I couldn't find it again, and it has nothing to do with sadness... I've let my guitar drink my sadness many times. I just lack that spark to make blues feel like true blues to me. I can play it technically well enough that some people may not notice the difference, but I do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62