You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gasps from the audience... Did they just do that? This is Shock Rock. [Metal Tree: 7]

in #metaltree8 years ago

I hadn't heard of Doom Metal until I wrote a post on it either, but once they described what makes the sound I added some things.

Overkill for example is a Thrash Metal band, but they have a lot of songs that are not fast... but are super low and chugging a long and it turns out that is a Doom Metal trait, so I now consider Overkill both Thrash and Doom, it all depends upon which song you are listening to.

Sort:  

One reason I try to stay away from categorizing Metal...some of the distinctions are really nebulous to me! I'll leave that to you experts ;)

I am not expert... it is trying to determine what all those branches on Sam's chart were that inspired me to write these posts. With a few exceptions such as Grindcore, Nu Metal, and Black Metal that I have not covered yet, most of the remaining branches are nebulous to me too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44