You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wow... That singer is a beautiful woman... Dude, that's a guy! Glam Metal [Metal Tree: 10]

in #metaltree8 years ago (edited)

As much as I tried to hate glam, I feel like Bon Jovi just made me accept it. Fine then, go on all you pretty men. Be pretty and make nice sounds. Even if I don't think Bon Jovi could ever classify as metal.

Sort:  

Bon Jovi definitely is metal. See the earlier posts for why this is so. Really the only common denominator for metal is the way drums are used, and distorted guitar. It tends to vary a huge amount in other areas, those are the only truly common denominators.

I didn't get into Bon Jovi much. I did get into Quiet Riot, Ratt, some Twisted Sister, etc in a very brief span. Then what my post will be about tomorrow happened. I kind of stopped paying much attention to any "glam" stuff after that.

Honestly the only important thing to me is the sound and style of music and the lyrics if those are involved. I hate when people are just like "i'm eclectic" and then list the "except blah blah blah" genres they don't like. I feel like I'm a fairly eclectic audiophile and like everything from Johnny Cash to the most obscure electronic or unknown hip-hop artists. It's all in what it means to you. Too many people care more about defining themselves by a genre than the actual content or message.

I agree. Yet as I said in one of my earliest posts in this series I've known bands that were performing metal, yet the artist was "anti-metal" without really knowing what Metal was. They just bought into the narrative that is often popular and why so often clearly Metal bands say "I'm not metal, I'm Rock".

Rock goes back a long ways... It's primary initial characteristics were tied into blues techniques, 4/4 time, and drums. It has gone a long way since then.

Ultimately genres do not matter except in context of people finding things that may be in a style that appeals to them, or that they are seeking at that time.

That female vocalist that was anti-metal eventually found out on her own that she had been wrong and fell in love with metal. Actually she'd been in love with it for some time, just was buying into the negative connotations of the label and thus did not want to consider it.

She was quite skilled... may still be.

EDIT: IF we want to get down to Rock vs Metal. Metal essentially is what Hard Rock became.

I love how dynamic even single groups or artist can be and shows how flexible and irrelevant the whole genre discussion can be. For example, one of my all time favorite "metal" bands:

is also responsible for:

When it comes to whether music is GOOD or not Genre is irrelevant. When you are seeking a specific feel, sound, etc that is about the only value in a genre.

Obviously a Blues Guitarist and a Flamenco guitarist sound different. They can both be awesome, but which one appeals more to me, you, or anyone can help with genre.

Whether it is GOOD or not though is genre irrelevant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48